Turtles All the Way Down – A Surprisingly Good Book

★★★

3.5


 

“Spirals grow infinitely small the farther you follow them inward, but they also grow infinitely large the farther you follow them out.” 

35504431

Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.
Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.

 

review

Well, this is awkward.

I went into this thinking I wouldn’t like it. Heck, I went into it pretty much expecting to dislike. And yes, I know that’s a horrible thing to say, and a terrible reason to read a book, but come on, you can hardly blame me.

I hated The Fault in Our Stars, with all of its extremely pretentious characters (although I did cry at the end, and actually liked the movie). I then left Looking for Alaska, halfway through after a friend spoiled the ending (thanks a lot, Megan!) I also couldn’t get past chapter five of Paper Towns, (mostly because I had already seen the movie and hated Margo).

So, Turtles All the Way Down, was me giving John Green one last shot. And you know what? I liked it. I actually, genuinely liked it.

line

This book is classic John Green. You got the two straight, white teenagers from well to do families who sit around contemplating the meaning of the universe with all the knowledge and wisdom of college philosophy professors and the vocabulary of a SAT test book.

And yet, in spite of all of these things, I actually enjoyed this one. Maybe because Aza and Davis didn’t come across as annoyingly pretentious as Augustus and Hazel had.

Image result for sorry not sorry gif
So, the story is about Aza, a girl dealing with spiraling thoughts that are entirely out of her control. She feels trapped and bullied by her mind as her anxiety takes over. And yet, she tries her best to be a good friend and daughter and to live the life she wishes she had.

It’s also about Davis, a billionaire boy with a missing father, who is trying his best to be a good influence for his 13-year-old brother.
It’s also about mental illness and family and friendship and falling in love. Really, it’s about a lot of things, but more on that later.

line

I think John Green does an excellent job at portraying Aza’s illness and the way that thoughts can sometimes control a person. I know firsthand how hard it can be to deal with invasive thoughts. I know that sometimes the mind seems like a different entity from the self and John Green wonderfully showed all the thoughts going through her head. More so, he did it in a way that properly displayed mental illness.

I liked the romance also, although at points it was a little too philosophical for my taste. I liked that love doesn’t fix mental illness. I liked that the world goes on and good things happen and sometimes bad things happen. I also like the way that mental illness is portrayed as affecting not just the individual but also those around them. I loved seeing how family and friendships are tested and yet remain. Truly, I think that it was all brilliantly done and I must say, kudos to John Green because I could actually relate.

line

So, why not a higher rating? Well, this book felt like it was trying too hard. It was too many things. It took a great story and stretched it out to the point that the plot seemed thin. It felt out of focus and it greatly diminished my liking of it.

I think it could have had a greater emotional impact if it had focused on only one thing, either Aza and her troubles, or Davis and his missing father. It could either be a look into mental illness or a mystery. Or, it could be both if it were longer and found a way to combine the two. But, alas, it did not.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and totally recommend. I am actually looking forward to whatever John Green writes next.

Let me know what you guys thought of it! Was it everything you hoped for?

add-to-goodreads-button-2 (1)

Amazon | Barnes & Noble


Check out The Book Cover Girls!

Goodreads | Instagram

11 thoughts on “Turtles All the Way Down – A Surprisingly Good Book

  1. Wow that is surprising! I was the same as you with TFIOS and, though I wasn’t spoiled for Looking for Alaska, I didn’t enjoy that either and couldn’t see the reason to go back to John Green. I can’t see myself reading this, cos to be honest the try hard element sounds like all the issues I had with his last books, though I’m glad you liked this more than his other books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you haven’t liked his previous works then its best to avoid this one because, as I said, it’s classic John Green, and has all the same elements as the last few. I think this books redeeming qualities came from his depiction of mental illness, everything else was pretty meh. And thanks! I was surprised I liked this too!

      Like

  2. Oh wow you had hope to the very end haha I hated Paper Towns and the too, I dislike them to a level that you have no idea haha I haven’t read the fault but I have it and will be reading it soon! And I’ll see if I agree with you haha I will keep this one in mind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You know… I have heard also what you said about them being so pretentious, haha and I will give it a shot and I will let you know! well, for sure I will do a review so you might see it around XD but for some reason, he is not like on my list for anything XD

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you! We have one already since we are two blogging haha but I haven’t read it! I reviewed Paper Towns but I don’t think that there is much on that book that we didn’t disagree on haha

        Thank you! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

