Zero Repeat Forever – ARC Review

★★


28945665Let me start off this review by telling you all a little fact about myself. I like to begin reading new books at midnight. I don’t know why, but something about inconvenient hours of night makes me want to pick up a good story and start reading. So, it was at around midnight on a Saturday, well, technically Sunday, that I decided that I was going to read this book. I lied and said I would only read a few chapters, but we know that’s never how it goes. So, someway, somehow, I ended up reading this 496 page novel in one sitting. I didn’t stop reading until 5:30 a.m. when I finally read that last heartbreaking sentence. So, clearly, I liked this novel.

Now, be forewarned, this books slow. And I do mean slooooow. And yet, it’s so addicting. It is told from two different points of view, a human girl named Raven, and an alien boy with no name, only the rank of Eighth. Both of which are trying to survive in this post invasion world as they try to figure out their true allegiances.

It’s all very 5th Wave-esque when you start reading, but also very different. I am sure that there will be those that compare the two, but I think that they each bring something new to the table and I am curious to see where this book goes in its future sequels. Also, I must admit that I liked The 5th Wave a bit more, giving it a full five stars, instead of the four this one got, but that had to do with the slow beginning. Seriously, the two main characters don’t “officially” meet until the 50% mark. But, it’s all good, I promise.

Despite how slow it seemed to go, the pacing of this book was absolutely perfect. I loved seeing the gradual deterioration of the world (does that make me sound crazy?) and the slow build up in the main character’s relationship. I loved seeing Raven and Eighth interact with one another, especially since Eighth was unable to speak through entire time. I loved seeing how he would sign things to her and how Raven slowly began to understand his language. Really, I loved it all.

The characters were heartbreaking and real and all that good stuff. Admittedly, at first, there was something about Raven that kept rubbing me the wrong way. But, as I read and got to learn more about her, the more I liked her character. Also, can we just take a minute to a appreciate the fact that she is a person of color? A badass, butt kicking, person of color? I was not expecting that at all. Also, the fact that it’s set in Canada. I don’t think I’ve ever read a sci-fi book set in Canada.

Then there was Eighth, who was tragic and sad and painfully pathetic in a way that just makes you want to hug him and never let him go. He was also unfailingly loyal, and sweet and extremely naive, but also lovable. Sure, he got a little emo at times and had a tendency for being over dramatic, but given the circumstances, I think he handled it all fairly well.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It has action, mystery, diversity, and awesome character. Be warned, that it also mentions topics such as suicide, drugs, racism, and death. Those aren’t the main focus of the novel but know that they are mentioned often, in case that is something you tend to avoid.

In the end, I’m just sad that I am going to have to wait an entire year to see what happens next. I was not ready for that ending.

add-to-goodreads-button-2 (1)

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**

{Zero Repeat Forever by Gabrielle Prendergast will be published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on August 29th 2017}


Hey, you!

Want to Join a Giveaway?

Click HERE for a chance to win a FREE signed ARC of Maggie Stiefvater’s All TheCrooked Saintsset to be released on October 10th! 


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

2 thoughts on “Zero Repeat Forever – ARC Review

  1. TOTALLY AGREE WITH EVERYTHING YOU MENTIONED! This book was very slow, but for some reason I just couldn’t put it down. There always the need to know what happens next despite feeling like we were getting nowhere! The characters were great, Raven was iffy here and there but I understood her (kind of) and my poor cinnamon roll Eight with his tiny emo moments XD It totally sucks that we have to wait over a year to figure out what happens next CUZ THAT ENDING! >.O

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I don’t fully know what it was about Raven that bothered me but in the end, Eighth made up for it by being the sweet little bean that he is. And that ending! I was curious how it would end but I did not expect that. They can’t just drop that bomb of of new info on us and then end! Hopefully we can get ARCs again for the sequel because I really want to know what happens next.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

