The Way it Hurts – ARC Review

★★


32841616

Before reading a book, I usually go to it’s Goodreads’ page and check it out, even if I have read the synopsis before, I like to prepare myself for what I am about to read.

So, when I went to the Goodreads page for this novel, I was a little bit afraid. When I requested this book on NetGalley, it had a 4.0 rating. When I went to check it again before reading, the rating had dropped to a 3.38. Technically that’s more than 50%, but it’s also technically a failing grade. I usually like the books I read to be rated at least at 4.0. Occasionally, I will read a 3.8, but life is way too short to be reading bad books.

But, alas, I was given this book for review so that was exactly what I was going to do. So, I read it. And to be honest, despite the rating I gave it, it wasn’t as bad as I was lead to believe it would be. I mean, I obviously didn’t love it, but it also wasn’t the worst book I ever read. Trust me, I have read some seriously high rated books that have seriously sucked. (I’m looking at you Tiger’s Curse and your 4.08 rating!)

First of all, the synopsis lies. Let’s just put that out there. It says one thing and then in the book, another thing happens, but I will let you figure that out if you read it. It just made it seem like a different type of book I suppose. Like these characters were terrible victims of a horrible thing. That’s not exactly how it goes.

Anyway, this book is about two people: Elijah and Kristin, their love of music, and an online scandal. For half a moment I thought that this would be deep and meaningful. I thought that it would take the real issues of online bullying the dangers of social media and make something out of them. It’s not what happened.

There was little emphasis on the issues of online bullying and sexism that Kristin faced. Sure, it was mentioned, but I don’t think that it was handled well enough. There was nothing for me as a reader to take away from it. It was more about music than it was about the social issue that it was actually trying to present. This is the third music/band romance YA novel that I have read this year, and you know what I have found out? I don’t like them very much. I wanted more of the actual advertised plot and less band practice.

Also, it seemed like Eli didn’t really care about what was happening to Kristin at all, despite it being in part his fault. It wasn’t until the issue started affecting him and his family that he saw the problem and decided to actually care. That’s just not cool. He came off as a little misogynistic to me.

I did like Eli’s love for his autistic sister. I liked his loyalty to his family. The other side characters though just weren’t doing it for me.

In the end, I wanted more. I wanted the book I was promised. Sadly, I didn’t get it.

Goodreads

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**

{The Way it Hurts by Patty Blount was published by Sourcebook Fire on August 1, 2017}


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

