T5W: July 26, 2017

Series That Got Better

Every once in a while you start reading a book and find out that it’s completely meh. Sometimes it’s a little better, other times, a little worse. Then you read the sequel and your jaw completely drops because you did not expect it to be nearly as good as it was. Then you continue the series and every book just blows the previous one out of the water, each being a little more awesome, a little more mind blowing.

This is a situation that happens to me a lot. And these are some of the series it has happened to me with.

**These are in no particular order**

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

I’m fairly sure that I have mentioned this before, but I was not to big a fan of book one, The Girl of Fire and Thorns. Book two, Crown of Embers, on the other hand, was one of my favorite books that year, and a book that is still close to my heart. It was so good! It was fast paced, and well plotted, the characters go through so much development in it, and the romance is absolutely swoon worthy. The last book, The Bitter Kingdom is also very good, not as super wonderfully amazing as Crown of Embers, but still really good. I totally recommend this series.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I loved the Lunar Chronicles, there is no doubt about it. And yet, I didn’t really like the first book Cinder. I had heard people talk about it and the cover was beautiful and extremely intriguing, so obviously I had to read it. Sadly, I thought it was just alright. Nothing too special. And then I read Scarlet and I completely fell in love. And then Cress, and my mind was blown. Winter was also very good, but not as much as Scarlet and Cress in my opinion. Either way, I’m glad I gave the series another chance.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

This is another series with an unimpressive first book. Shadow and Bone was fine. Just that. Siege and Storm was good. Ruin and Rising absolutely ruined me. It was such a good finale! It was the book that made me love Leigh Bardugo, the reason I rushed to read Six of Crows, and thank God that I did.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I gotta admit, I didn’t like Shatter Me. I didn’t just feel indifferent, I actually really didn’t like the first book in the series. There was insta-love, it was overly dramatic, the characters were annoying, the villain seemed one dimensional. It was just a lot of things. And then I read Unravel Me, and oh, boy, was I surprised. Not only did I find myself liking the story, but I ended up cheering for the villain and hoping for his redemption. Then in Ignite Me, I fell in love with them all over again. The characters grow so much in this series, and that is, I think, the thing that made the later books so much better.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I cannot even believe that I am going to include this series but, here it is. I didn’t like Shatter Me, that’s true, but I absolutely hated Red Queen. Like, a lot. A lot, a lot. I hated every single thing about it. I honestly rated it one star. And yet, because of my masochistic reading tendencies, I read the sequel, Glass Sword. And you know what? It didn’t suck! If anything, I actually kind of liked it. And then I read King’s Cage, and I actually liked it even more! Shocking, I know. I truly cannot believe that I am actually looking forward to the final book in the series.


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

6 thoughts on “T5W: July 26, 2017

  1. My mind was blown by Cress too!! One hundred percent agree on Lunar chronicles!! And I agree *so much* about how Shatter Me got so much better (though I came from more of a “meh” place about the first one- I really wasn’t sure whether to continue the series- but I did in the end). haha I never actually read the sequels to Red Queen, even though I liked the ending to that book- I’m glad to hear it got better- maybe I’ll pick it up one day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

