Warcross – ARC Review of an AWESOME Novel

★★


29385546Some months ago, while browsing NetGalley and Edelweiss and other such websites in hopes for good books, I came across a galley for Warcross and for a full minute I did nothing but stare at my screen, wondering if it was real. Once I was satisfied that it was, in fact, a reality, I obviously had to get it. I downloaded it from Edelweiss, all excited and whatnot, and then you know what I did? Nothing, that’s what. I left it unread, for months. Then, at BookCon 2017, I was lucky enough to get a physical galley for this book and I was so excited to read it. And then you know what I did? I left it unread too. Until now, that is.

Looking back, my one regret is that I did not read this book sooner.

Ok, so do y’all remember Spy Kids 3: Game Over? When the kids go inside this really cool, if somewhat dated, virtual reality video game. Juni has to integrate himself among the players and become part of their ‘team’ when really he’s a spy trying to find this villain called the Game Maker. Do y’all remember the weird worlds inside the game and the awkward power suits and multiple power ups and whatnot, and that awful 3D?

Well, the entire time I was reading this book, my mind kept going back to that movie. And before you get discouraged by that comparison, let me just say that this book was 100x better than that movie. And trust me, I really liked that movie back in 2003.

But, all joking aside, the reason for the comparison is that the basic concepts of the two are fairly similar. We have a rebellious main character tasked with entering a virtual reality video game under the guise of a regular player when really, they are there as spies hoping to take down a tech villain.

The difference is that this book does all of that but in style.

Marie Lu is a genius. There seems to be nothing that this woman can’t write. She started out with dystopia (back when everything was dystopia) by writing the Legend trilogy, which I loved. She moved on to fantasy with The Young Elites trilogy, which I also loved. And now she goes on to science fiction, and I am loving it too. The best part of it all is that each time she comes up with something new, she gets better. Each book is better than the last, each character more complex. The writing is more fluid, more descriptive, more epic.

Not only does Lu deliver a super fun, super well-written novel, she also fills it with diversity and does a wonderful job at it. We have Emika, a Chinese-American, Hideo, who is Japanese, Asher, who is in a wheelchair and doesn’t let it stop him from being awesome, Roshan and Tremaine two gay, British ex-lovers turned rivals, and many others more.

The players are supposed to be from all over the world and we get a sense of that. We have everyone speaking their native languages and people looking different, not whitewashed versions of what they should look like, and I love that. Most authors would just kind of awkwardly mention that there are other people present, and have only white Americans actually show up. And of course, one foreign brown kid of varying ethnicity who speaks English with a thick accent. It’s so sad how many times this happens. So, thank you, Marie Lu, for being better than most authors. (Minus that time that Emika let out that breath she didn’t know she was holding. Twice.)

Honestly, everything in this book is good. The creativity behind this is incredible. Part of me wants to live in this world, and another part of me is deathly afraid of it. Technology is good. Too much of it freaks me out. If anyone watches Black Mirror on Netflix, imagine a combo of the episodes “Nosedive” and “Playtest” from season three. Only add a fun Olympic size virtual game that is basically a mix between the Hunger Games and Quidditch, after you subtract any actual dying.

Trust me, there is just no other way that I can explain it.

Earlier I mentioned that my one regret was not reading it sooner. Now, I’m not so sure. Maybe I should have read it later on so the wait for book two wouldn’t be killing me as it is now. 2018 is so far away! I would die for an ARC of the sequel. (Ok, maybe not die, exactly, but like totally scrape my knee or something).

Anyway, let me know if you guys are excited to read it! And if you miraculously already have, let me know what you thought!

Also, what do you think of this cover? I’m not sure whether I like it, or absolutely hate it. I certainly don’t love it, but the more I look at it, the less I dislike it.

Goodreads

{Warcross by Marie Lu will be published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers on September 12, 2017}

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**

12 thoughts on “Warcross – ARC Review of an AWESOME Novel

  1. AGHHH You read Warcross I’m infinitely jealous ;P! Great review. The idea of the book sounds fresh and awesome! I haven’t read anything that resembles it. I’ve read and loved Legend trilogy and The Young Elite Trilogy and if this one’s better, I expect it to be awsomeeeee then. Super excited to see this diverse set of characters too! I don’t like the cover thoughhh! There was so many other ways to make it match the theme without looking ugly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I enjoyed this one a lot more than I have the others. I think the fact that it’s different from most things I’ve read makes it better so I hope you like it once you read it. And I totally agree. That cover looks like a place holder for the real cover. It looks like a cross between a neon rubix cube and that old rainbow text art on Microsoft office. They could do so much better.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. MARIE LU IS LIKE MY IDOL! I LOVE HER WORK! EVERYTHING THAT SHE WRITES I DEVOUR!!!! I CANNOT WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THIS BOOK, IT SOUNDS SO EPICALLY FANTASTIC! *realizes that I’m still writing in all caps* I’m so glad you liked it, I can’t wait to read it myself! This was a wonderful review!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’ve read all of Marie Lu’s books so far and I think this is my favorite (followed closely by The Midnight Star). It’s so different from most YA out there so I think that adds to my enjoyment. I hope you like it too once it comes out. I promise it won’t disappoint!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. oh yes I totally remember Spy Kids 3!! It’s so cool that there’s a book like that. And I *love* Marie Lu!! So this was definitely on my radar- and after everything you’ve said I just want to read it even more (“fun Olympic size virtual game that is basically a mix between the Hunger Games and Quidditch, after you subtract any actual dying”- yes please!!!) Awesome review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

