Artificial Sweethearts: ARC Review of A Rom-Com in Book Form

★★


34389398For a long while now I have been in the mood for a cute YA contemporary romance. I wanted something to completely sweep me off my feet and make me swoon over the characters and their overly dramatic love.

Basically, I needed a rom-com in book form. And yet, no matter how many contemporaries I seem to be reading, none have delivered what I’ve wanted.

Thankfully, this one at least came close. We’re not quite there yet, but almost.

One of my favorite little cliched tropes of YA contemporary romances is the whole fauxmance turned romance idea. For some reason, I love seeing people pretending to be in love and eventually fall in love for real. I don’t know what it says about me, but I’m a sucker for it. So, obviously, I was super excited to read this one.

Tinka and Sam each have a problem. Tinka’s parents are trying to set her up with a guy she doesn’t like. Sam needs a date to a wedding. How are they going to solve this? Not like rational human beings in the real world. Of course not. Not when this is a rom-com in book form. Instead, they are going to pretend to be dating each other. But, as you can all guess, after a while, real spark start to fly between the two pretend lovebirds, and real feelings start to bloom within their fake relationship.

And you know what? I loved it.

I loved seeing their Sam and Tinka’s fake relationship blossom and grow. I really enjoyed the relationship between them and the build up towards the end.

So, why only the three stars?

Well, it was extremely predictable. I mean, I knew that this was going to be predictable when I went into it. It’s not like anyone goes to watch a rom-com looking for a flare of originality. Still, I would have preferred something new or different. Or, at least something to catch me off guards and surprise me just a bit. I like even my cliched stories to bring something new to the table.

Also, I am not too sure about how I feel about many of the supporting characters. Tinka’s parent annoyed me. Better yet, they angered me. Karen should have been removed from the story because I could barely stand her. Some of the characters seemed to have been added for the sake of drama and not to really add to the main story and I didn’t like that either.

Still, in the end, I must admit that I was actually fairly entertained while reading this. It delivered exactly what it promised: a quick read with a rom-com feel. It was cute, it was entertaining, and if you are looking for something light then I would totally recommend.

Goodreads

{Artificial Sweethearts by Julie Hammerle was published by Entangled: Crush on July 10, 2017}

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

6 thoughts on “Artificial Sweethearts: ARC Review of A Rom-Com in Book Form

  1. Isnt* contemp.
    Also, I’ve read some really cute adult romance. And on netgalley im reading Bookishly Ever After. It’s ok cute. The next from there is Lies Jane Austen Told Me. That one sounds super cute also

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

