Artemis Fowl – The Book I Almost Didn’t Finish

★★


6090919This was a hard one for me, it really was. I am surprised I even finished it after putting it down for over a week. I almost thought I wouldn’t be able to go through with it.

For a long while I had been meaning to read this series. I’ve been wanting to get more into children/middle grade fiction and I figured this would be a good starting place. I had this series in mind for years now and only recently decided to pick it up, hoping perhaps for the next Percy Jackson. That’s not what I got.

I am very disappointed to say that I was extremely bored while reading this book. I had to push myself to read it and get through it. This is made even worse by the fact that it’s actually a fairly short novel. I have read longer books than that in one sitting, and yet, it took me weeks to finally finish this.

I think that main problem with this book is the writing style. I just don’t think that it’s for me. I couldn’t get into it, no matter how hard I tried. At first I thought I would like it and was starting to like Artemis. I mean, how can you not be intrigued when these are the opening lines:

“How does one describe Artemis Fowl? Various psychiatrists have tried and failed.”

And considering that the plot is about a 12 year old genius, multimillionaire, criminal mastermind, who discovers the existence of fairies and magic and exploits them for gold? That sounds amazing! Slightly diabolic and nefarious, but amazing nonetheless. And for the first two or so chapters, it was. But, the deeper I went, the less engaged I felt as if the momentum had died off. And while the characters seemed interesting and the plot was fairly fast paced, I just didn’t connect, and honestly, didn’t care about any of it.

I think that this is a book that I might have liked if I had read it as an actual child. Some children’s books work for all ages. Some I have read now as a 20 year old and have loved. This was not one of them.

So, will I continue this series? I don’t think I will, although I might try to read the sequel and see if that works better for me because I really wanted to love this. If not? Oh well. I tried.

If anyone has any children/middle grade fiction to recommend I’m all ears.

Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Artemis Fowl – The Book I Almost Didn’t Finish

  1. What a pity! This is one of my favorites since I was 10. But as you said, it’s probably because I started reading it when I was a child, and then grew up with the series. Honestly, my favorites are book #1 and #8, so I am not sure you’ll enjoy the next ones so much, especially if you didn’t like the #1.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I feel really bad for not liking it, especially since I was really looking for a good children/middle grade series to get into. I wish I really had read this growing up, it might have made a difference. And thanks for the heads up! If you know any good children’s series let me know!

      Like

  2. This was definitely one of my favorite middle grade books growing up, but I’ve yet to return to it as an adult. I liked your thoughts on it, though ! It makes me want to go back and read the first book !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

