The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag!

What up Everyone! I’ve been tagged! Thank you very, very much to The Orangutan Librarian for tagging me for this! I had never seen this tag before but was super excited to get to it.

So, let’s get to it!

Find a book on your shelves or e-reader with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book?

29236299

I read Illiminae a while ago and got this one as soon as it was released, I even got it signed. And yet, I haven’t even opened it up. I know, I know, what’s wrong with me? It’s also sad that this could also apply to A Torch Against the Night. Another book with a blue cover that I got right when it released, and even got signed. I still haven’t read it either.

Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

30226723

I hated Red Queen. Hated it with a passion. It was so bad! I can’t believe I made i t through it! And yet, I gave the series another try. I read Glass Sword and didn’t hate it. Even more surprisingly, I read King’s Cage and genuinely liked it. I could barely believe it!

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random. How did you discover this book?

9284655

I saw this book on Goodreads and the cover drew me in. I just had to read it. I mean, look at that cover. It’s glorious! Sadly, that cover is about all this book has going for it. I hated it. It’s so bad! I don’t understand how it has an average 4.08 rating on Goodreads. Why? I don’t get it? The characters are so dumb, the plot is extremely convoluted, the events that happen are super repetitive, and the writing is greatly sub par. And yet, this has a 4.08 rating! No! I do not accept this! It was rigged I say! Rigged!

But seriously though, don’t read this. Just trust me, don’t do it.

And if you are one of the people who miraculously liked this book, please tell me why that is. What made this good in your eyes? I genuinely want to know.

Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

21787

I loved this book! I’ve keep meaning to reread it but never get around to it. I might have to do it soon though. I’ve missed it.

Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

16143347

There was a time in which everyone and their mother was talking about this book. It was so mysterious as no one wanted to give spoilers. And you know what? I loved this book. It is definitely worth the read, and worth going in without knowing anything at all.

Find a book on your shelves or e-reader with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?

13335037

Honestly, I only read this back in the day because everyone was talking about it.

What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

19063

Ok, so technically I knew that this book existed before the movie came out, but I didn’t really know what it was about. If anything, I kept avoiding it. Don’t really know why, but I just didn’t think I would like it. And then I saw the movie and cried literally all the tears. And then I read the book, and cried even more. My one regret is that I did not read it sooner.

Think of your all-time favorite book/s. When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

I have so many books that I consider my favorites. But here are the top two, and how they are strangely connected.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer –  I had to include this book. Sorry, not sorry. It’s the book that started my love for reading. To me, this is the book that started it all.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – The first time I heard of this book was when I read Twilight. Well, technically, it was when I read Eclipse. There were several Wuthering Heights quotes in that novel, and t hey were so over the top! The whole ““If all else perished, and he remained…” speech and whatnot. Still, if it was in Twilight I wanted to read it. I kept meaning to, I kept checking it out of the library and then returning it. Honestly, I was a bit afraid of Wuthering Heights. I was afraid that I would not like it. It was so different from what I normally read (mostly YA). Then in college, I was assigned this book for my 19th-century literature class and I was so excited to read it. It was nothing like what I expected. It was so dramatic! Extremely over the top. It dealt with terrible people, and a twisted romance and I loved every second of it! Now it’s one of my favorite books of all time.


So…Who do I tag?

Some old friends…some new…some in between

Brookie @Brookie Cowles|  Avi and Vishwa @Panic at the Bookstore| Kawther @The Villain Library

Link back to this post so I can see your answers!

{Please don’t feel obligated to do this tag if you have already done it, or simply don’t want to}


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

8 thoughts on “The ‘How I Choose My Books’ Tag!

  1. I love this tag! Great answers 🙂 It’s always cool to see how other bloggers work.
    And Wuthering Heights is my all time favorite book as well!! I just love how raw and unapologetic it is, which is especially awesome considering it was written by a woman in the 19th century.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And yay! Wuthering Heights is such a good and complex novel. I know that a lot of people hate it due to the unapologetic cruelty and complexity of the characters but I’ve always thought that was what made it great. It’s about terrible people who do terrible things and I agree that it was written by a woman in that time period just makes it better

      Like

  2. Ah I loved Illuminae and Gemina- I really hope you enjoy the second one- and that’s incredible that you have a signed copy!! I really need to read Princess Bride, cos I absolutely love the movie!! And I felt the same about We Were Liars- what was so cool about the hype for that one was that everyone just said “I’m not gonna say anything about this book- just read it!”- which was awesome cos then I had no expectations for what was gonna happen going in, I just had a strong feeling I’d like it! And I love the Book Thief and Wuthering Heights!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep telling myself to read Gemina but at this point I think I might just wait for the third one to come out. And since both the authors are Australian I was so lucky that they came to a city in the US near me. I really hope they come again although I doubt it. Also you totally have to read the Princess Bride! It’s so good! And so funny too! And I never would have thought that two of my favorite books would be connected in such a way!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

