T5W – July 5, 2017

Books Without Romance

I haven’t done a Top 5 Wednesday in a long while, and of course the one I choose to jump back in with is the hardest one. Looking at the books I’ve read (most of which are YA), there are very, very few that do not have romance in it. And even fewer which I could consider to be favorites of mine to be included in a top five. Seriously, all my favorites have romance, from Twilight, to Six of Crows, to Wuthering Heights. Still, after combing through my books on Goodreads, I did manage to find a few.

**These are in particular order**

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Since I am pretty sure that everyone has read this, or at the very least knows about it, I won’t go into detail. Just know that I loved this book, it broke my heart and made me cry, and despite all of the emotions that it made me feel it has zero romance within it.

How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kristen Miller

I loved this book way back when I read it. It’s super good and super unknown, a thing which saddens me. And while technically there a little romance thrown into it, it’s nothing major and in no way takes away from the plot. Romance takes a back seat to it all, there is nothing sappy about either. It’s about crime and murder and a lot of other things that are total trigger warnings so be careful with this one.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart 

Another book that I loved back when I read it. It’s a mystery novel about a rich family on a private island. I can’t say much because in this book everything is a spoiler and it’s best to go in blind. But, has little to no romance and is so good!

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

This book is constantly compared to The Fault in Our Stars, a thing that I do not understand. And no, it’s not because I high key hate TFIOS. It’s because these are two different books, about two different things, despite them both being about cancer. I only wish that this book got more recognition because it’s so much better than TFIOS is my opinion. Also, unlike TFIOS, no cheesy, over dramatic, unrealistic romance!

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

I don’t think this needs explaining. And yes, there is a sprinkle of romance, but that is in no way the main point of the novel. It’s one of my favorite books, as well as my favorite high school assigned reading.


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

 

4 thoughts on “T5W – July 5, 2017

Leave a Reply

