The Hundredth Queen – A Disappointing Read

★★


30811001

Well, that’s over and done with.

For a while now I’ve been seeing nothing but raving reviews for this novel. Add that to the gorgeous cover, and you can bet that I was excited. I went into it hoping to love it. Better yet, I was expecting to love it. Needless to say, I did not.

Before sitting down to write this I thought of all the eloquent ways to express myself. Then I decided that the best way to go about this is to be blunt as possible. So, to put it quite frankly, I found this book to be very boring.

There were a lot of things happening and yet, not a single one caught and held my attention. None of the characters inspired anything but indifference from me. And that, more than anything else, is why I am rating this book with only two stars. The moment that I no longer care about the characters the entire book bores me and the plot no longer matters to me.

It also did not help that I was not a very big fan of the writing. Two pages into the story I already knew that I was going to have a problem with the writing style. I know that some people liked it, sadly, I was not one of them. It not that it was bad, it’s just that it wasn’t good, at least, in my opinion.

I did not like the way the world or the characters were described. Everything seemed so bland. So dull. Even the relationships seemed watered down and generic, especially with all the insta-love that went into Deven and Kalinda’s “relationship”. The two had barely spent time together before they were declaring their undying love for one another. To make it worse, all of their interactions seemed awkward and forced. The two had very little chemistry and felt a little flat.

Another thing that got to me was the depiction of the culture. I am Hispanic. My family and I are from the Caribbean and I have never traveled anywhere other than constantly between the USA and The Dominican Republic. So, I have to admit that I know very little about Indian culture and its many religions. What I do understand is that India is an extremely diverse country with many, many different cultures and peoples living within it. I am always a little wary about jumping into books about certain cultures by people that are not from that culture. I understand all of the research that must have gone into writing the book, but rare;y do these authors do the cultures justice. One of the main complaints I hear about this book is the depiction of India as a monolithic culture and religion. I have seen some people have some problems with the descriptions of the world and the lack of cultural depth to the story. As I said, this is something that I don’t know much about and cannot properly describe or talk about, so tell me what you thought of this.

Overall, I was not a fan of this book. I did not enjoy it, despite having really wanted to. Will I read the sequel? I doubt it? Do I recommend? Strangely enough, I think I might. There are a lot of people that love it, you might too. It just was not for me.

Goodreads

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

4 thoughts on “The Hundredth Queen – A Disappointing Read

  1. Wow… I’ve never seen a bad review for this book until now haha… I do understand what ur saying though… I hate it when u have so many expectations for a book but the book doesn’t satisfy them…

    Like

Leave a Reply

