2017 Reading Challenge – Update

Hello, hello! The year is more than halfway over and I am halfway done with the reading challenge Rosie and I came up with at the start of the year. For those who don’t know what I’m talking about well, we have been announcing this reading challenge all year. Some of you may, or may not have noticed this line at the end of all of our posts:

Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

This is what we are talking about!

We did this as a way of keeping our reading varied and also having a little fun. Although Rosie is no longer with us on the blog, I am still going forth with the challenge.

There are no rules to this, nor is it required to go through each of them. This is all in fun  and  anyone who wants can take up the challenge with me and the post their completion of it by the end of the year.

The challenge began on January 1, 2017, and ends on December 31, 2017, at midnight. Any and every book is acceptable, and everyone is welcome to join me as I read through these.

Also, to make it more manageable, a  single book can satisfy more than one challenge. Example: Wuthering Heights, is over 150 years old, as well as a classic.

If you guys want to join me, by all means, do!

(For the original post and a the clear list, click HERE)
The List

A book published (at least) 150 years ago

Antony and Cleopatra – William Shakespeare

Originally played on 1606. Basically, forever ago.

A book published this year (2017)

Carve the Mark – Veronica Roth

I’ve read many published this year, but this was the first.

A book published on the year of your birth

A book over 600 pages

Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas

This book had 648 pages.  Way too many if you ask me.

A book under 200 page

Every Heart a Doorway – Seanan McGuire

This only has 173 very peculiar pages.

A book you should have read in school (but didn’t)

A book on the bottom of your TBR

Captive Prince – C.S. Pacat

This was pretty low in my priority list. I regret boosting it up.

A book you owned and had not read

A book from the library

Still Life With Tornado – A.S. King

A book with a pretty cover

I’ve actually read several with pretty covers, but in the end of the year I will chose which of them was the best.

A book with an unappealing cover

A classic

Animal Farm – George Orwell

Not as good as 1984, but just as scary.

A self-published novel

A book you started but did not finish

The second book in a series

The Elite – Kiera Cass

I read book one, The Selection, in September 2013, and didn’t read this one till February 2017. So, yeah. It took me a bit to come back to this.

A book that has been/or will be made into a movie

Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

The movie was released on May 19, 2017

A book that has been/or will be made into a TV show

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

The show premiered on Hulu on April 26, 2016.

A children’s book

The Lost Hero – Rick Riordan

Gotta admit, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I though. Probably cause Percy wasn’t in it.

A banned book

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

It has been challenged since it’s publication, and was banned in 2006 in a school district in Texas.

A graphic novel/comic book

A nonfiction book

Furiously Happy – Jenny Lawson

This memoir was absolutely hilarious.

A book about magic

Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor

One of the best books I’ve read this year.

A book about aliens

A Pulitzer prize winner

A book originally published in a foreign language

The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Originally published in Spanish with the title La Sombra del Viento.

For my Spanish review click HERE.

A book from your childhood

A book you have already read

A book written by a person of a minority group

The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas

I’ve actually read a lot that fit into this, but this was my favorite (thus far).

A book with a green cover

Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

Basically, the book that made me a liar.

A book with the word “NIGHT” in the title

Leave a Reply

