Heir of Fire – The Book That Made Me A Liar

★★


20613470So, that happened.

From now on any of you who would like to call me a liar, feel free to do so because I have lied to you all. A few weeks ago I published a post talking about series that I would not finish. Number one on that list was the Throne of Glass series.

I had read book one, Throne of Glass,  way before it was popular. I read it weeks after its release, before everyone and their mother decided that it would be cool. And I liked it. Then I read book two, Crown of Midnight, and then I stopped. I had no intention of returning.

There was no real reason behind the decision, it’s just that time passed and I wasn’t feeling very invested anymore.

And yet, the other day, while bored and lonely, with no one to talk to and nothing to do, I decided, hey, why not read Heir of Fire? How I jumped to that thought? Beats me. But I did. I read it. And here I am. A liar. And I am not sorry. I  now have found myself invested in this world once again, and cannot wait to keep reading into it.

Anyway, to the review!

The last time I was in that world was when I read Crown of Midnight, back in 2013, so it has been a while. So, as you can guess, I was a little worried about just jumping into Heir of Fire without even glancing at the last too books. But, in the end, it was all fine. I was surprised by how clearly I remembered it all.

While I liked Heir of Fire, I did not love it, as you can see by my rating. I am not gonna lie, for a good portion of the book, I was actually kinda bored. Although, I must admit, it did get pretty good near the end. There was so much happening, I was getting nervous just reading about it!

Anyway, as I am sure y’all have read this, and that I’m the last on the bandwagon, I won’t go into details. But, Manon is now one of my new favorite characters. Also, I cannot wait for Aedion and Aelin to meet again. I want to see all the trouble that they are going to stir when they finally get together. Dorian, my poor baby, Dorian, don’t worry, help is on the way.  Chaol, well, I actually don’t know how to feel about Chaol, other than he and Dorian have such a strong friendship and I want that bond never to break. Then there is Rowan. I used to be team Chaol back in 2013, when there was only Chaol and Dorian to choose from, but now, there is only Rowan. I ship it. I ship it so hard.

I hear that Queen of Shadows is better than this one, so hopefully I won’t be as bored. I will try to get to it soon, but not too soon. I don’t want to fly through that and Empire of Storms and then have nothing left.  We shall see how that goes.

Goodreads


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

 

8 thoughts on “Heir of Fire – The Book That Made Me A Liar

  1. I still haven’t read any of Sarah J. Maas’ series yet. I’m planning on reading A Court of Thorns and Roses this summer. Thanks for such an in-depth and great review!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

