Songs About A Girl – A Review

★★

(1.5/5)


25336218

I didn’t really like this book. And I feel bad for it.

I wanted to like this, and I just wasn’t into it. At one point I was just pushing myself through it because I refused to leave it unfinished.

The book is about 15-year old Charlie, who gets the chance of a lifetime to go backstage and photograph the hot new boy band: Fire&Lights. There she meets the guys who would become her friends. There is boy next door, Olly, funny and intelligent Yuki, quiet and kind Aiden, and of course, talented and dysfunctional Gabriel.

It seems like a dream come true until it turns into a nightmare.

When the fans of Fire&Lights find out about the girl that has been hanging out with the band, they decide to get nasty. All of this while the band starts crumbling from within as Olly and Gabriel compete for Charlie’s attention among other things.

It sounds like it would be a great story, and for a lot of people, it was. I just wasn’t one of them.

I liked the characters, I just didn’t much care what happened to them. The camaraderie between the Fire&Lights gang was fun to read and very endearing. Other than that, I really wasn’t feeling it. The other characters were just okay. The writing was okay. The plot was okay. It was just an okay novel and I wanted more.

Then there was the ‘romance’ aspect, which was very downplayed. I would have perhaps appreciated that if then the characters hadn’t gone and declared their love for each other, a month after meeting. You can’t have both. You can’t downplay the romance, and then proclaim your characters in love.

Honestly, I think that the problem is that I thought I was getting into something different than I got. I expected a full on romance about music and rock bands, and all that goodness. I got a mystery, a half-baked romance, and cliff hanger.

It just wasn’t for me.

Goodreads

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

