Book Con 2017 – The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

Hello, hello, everyone! As you all may, or may not have known, I was in New York this weekend at Book Con!

I was so excited to go there. I had planned and eagerly awaited, and finally, it was time. I got on a five-hour bus to NY and waited almost got lost in Manhattan, but in the end, I had a great weekend…for the most part.

The Good:

There were so many booths and so many people. I loved being around all those book lovers. I think that for me, the experience of going was worth the price of admission, it also helped that I got some really cool free stuff (which I will talk about later).

There were also so many cool authors like Marie Lu (who I saw but didn’t meet), Leigh Bardugo (the same as Marie Lu), E. Lockhart (the same), Laini Taylor (who I actually did meet) and much more!

There was lots of free stuff! I don’t know where most of it was, but other people told me it was there. I got there at 10:25 on Saturday (25 minutes after the doors opened) and already there were people with like five different totes full of books. Where they got them, I don’t know, I didn’t see them. I mean, yeah I got some stuff, but there were people with some much stuff that they could barely hold it all!


But enough with me being salty, overall, it was pretty good. Until we get to the bad.

The Bad:

Lines.

This, of course, cannot be helped, but still. If you aren’t willing to wait an hour (at least) for something, don’t bother.

They were giving out copies of Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsey Cummings for a signing. The signing was at 1 PM. But people started lining up at 10:00 AM and weren’t allowed to leave the line until then.

I was one of the first people to arrive, but upon hearing that I would have to stay there for 4 hours, I quickly backed out. That was just insanity to me. I would have loved to get a copy of that book, but I just couldn’t do that to myself. I would not waste half of Book Con for one thing only.

People would start lining up for things two hours in advance, and I just couldn’t do that. So, make sure that what you wait for is something that you really, really want, or else you will spend your entire trip in lines, and that’s not very fun. I for example, waited in line for over an hour for Laini Taylor, but that was because I refused to leave without her autograph on my book!

What I ended up doing at several points was getting the ticket I needed and leaving until the line died down, or just jumping in on lines at the very last moment. Of course, for the most popular things that don’t always work. But hey, I got an Ever After High arc signed by Shannon Hale for my sister by doing that. I also got a tote signed by R.L. Stein, The Bear and Nightingale by Katherine Arden, No Good Deed by Goldie Moldavsky, and Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed, all by jumping in at the last moment.

Also, a tip for anyone who is planning on going in the future: wear comfortable shoes. Seriously, after standing for 8 hours straight for two days in a row, I was ready to die. Those 8 hours, of course, not counting all the walking I did to get to and from the Javits Center.

And a friendly reminder: books are heavy. My shoulders still hurt from lugging things around. While you can’t have rolling things inside like luggage or anything, it would be smart to leave a bag at the bag  check area and periodically dump your stuff in there.

The Ugly:

This part was originally going to be a rant about Penguin Publishing but then some of the girls working there on Sunday afternoon made up for it. Penguin was crazy. Penguin pissed me off.


On Saturday was the day Warcross was being signed. I showed up an hour earlier and asked where the line would start. They said, “somewhere in the area”. Thanks, Penguin. That helped. Because of their “helpfulness”, a mass of people started wandering aimlessly around their booth, which they very rudely told to leave. And I get it, they didn’t want that mass of people in the way, but they were very disrespectful about it.

Then, as it turned out, the line was on the other side of where they said it would be, so basically, a stampede formed as people rushed to get in place.

But I wasn’t even mad that time. I was kinda pissed off, but I was pretty rational about it. I moved on and didn’t give much thought to it.

What really got to me was on Sunday, at the E. Lockhart arc signing event. The tickets for the event were to be given at 10:30 AM. I got there at 10:05 and asked where the line would be. They told me where it was and I waited around the area. When 10:30 came around, a line was already formed, and I was in it. All was fine and dandy. And then this one lady told us to get back, that we were part of the line because we had obviously gotten there first, and that we would be where the line started. Then what does she do? She holds us off and brings in all the people in the back, and puts them in line. Because…why?

So in the end, the people that had been there since the very start got nothing. Thank’s Penguin. Thanks a lot. Not to mention that their staff on Saturday was all extremely rude. I went over to ask a question and this one lady basically just rolled her eyes at me. Again, thanks, Penguin.

The only reason I can’t completely hate on Penguin, despite wanting to, is because I actually got some cool totes and stuff from there. Also, the girls working there on Sunday afternoon were super nice and super helpful. Clearly, they realized that whoever was there on Saturday morning were all terrible people. Anyway, those girls played trivia at the end and I ended up winning a Warcross arc anyway. So yeah.

Anyway, now that all that is out of the way, let me show off what I got!

Things I got from Book Con:

I got totes for days! I even got a very special tote signed by Mr. R.L. Stein himself!

FullSizeRender (1).jpgI also got books!

These are in no order. They are just as I am seeing them from across the room.

  • All the Crooked Saints (arc- signed) – Maggie Stiefvater
  • Shadowhouse Fall (arc – signed) – Daniel Jose Older
  • No Good Deed (arc – signed) – Goldie Maldavsky
  • Love, Hate, and other Filters (arc – signed) – Samira Ahmed
  • R.I.P Eliza Hart (arc) – Alyssa B. Sheinmel
  • The Knowing (arc – signed) – Sharon Cameron
  • Horizon – Scott Westerfeld
  • Girl in a Bad Place (arc) – Kaitlin Ward
  • House of Ash (arc) – Hope Cook
  • Satellite (arc) – Nick Lake
  • Whatever After: Abby in Wonderland (arc-signed) – Sarah Mlynowski
  • Mean Girls (arc) – Micol Ostow
  • All About Mia (arc) Lisa Williamson
  • The Bear and the Nightingale – Katherine Arden
  • Odd & True (arc) – Cat Winters
  • Warcross (arc) – Marie Lu
  •  The Forever Summer (signed) – Jamie Brenner
  • Rich People Problems – Kevin Kwan
  • Things I’m Seeing Without You (arc) – Peter Bognanni


I am lazy so there are no pictures on this post, mostly cause I’m lazy and don’t feel like taking pictures of the books yet, but that’s coming soon. I will also be posting some stuff on The Book Cover Girls Instagram, so go check them out.

Also, stay tuned because there might just be a giveaway coming soon! And one of the things I give might just be a signed arc of All The Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater. Just maybe. I’ll let you know soon enough.


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

9 thoughts on “Book Con 2017 – The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

  1. Yikes! No fun Penguin! But how cool that you got to go. One day I will get to a book expo! That would be so awesome. It would also be really awesome to be signing books at an expo… but I’d have to sell a book first 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah Penguin was a bit of mess. A lot of people there also had problems with them. And I have no doubt that one day you will! I too would love to go to Book Expo, but in the meantime I will settle with Book Con. Maybe you could go to Book Con next year. It’s super fun and you get to meet a lot of people who are as passionate about reading as you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So much cool stuff! But yeah, lines are the worst… And people are the worst, too!
    Also, what’s up with everyone being super rude on Saturday? If you’re going to be at this type of events, you NEED to at least try to be nice. You don’t have to be jolly all day, but at least be helpful.
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it was just a stressful day, but the people at Penguin were pissing everyone off on Saturday. It’s fine though, they made up for it on Sunday. And the lines were crazy! I think it’s best to go with a fried so you can switch in an out of the lines or else you will spend your entire time just standing there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

