More Series I Won’t Finish

Some time ago I made of post of series I didn’t finish. Well, guess what? I got more! These are, I think, a bit more controversial than the last batch. My reasons for not finishing these series different from series to series, but mostly, it was because I simply didn’t feel like keeping on. Anyway, here we go, I suppose.

Throne of Glass

16034235I started the series right when it came out, before it blew up and everyone and their mother was raving for it. And you know what, I liked book one, Throne of Glass. Book two, Crown of Midnight was ‘aight, but then, I didn’t really feel the need to continue. Also, I hear that there are only two people of color in the entire series and both get brutally murdered. One was already murdered in book two and I don’t want to read that again. But, also, if I’m honest, that’s not the reason I stopped. I just didn’t feel like it anymore.

Image result for sorry not sorry gif


The Mortal Instruments

(I won’t read any of her other series either)

I thought The Mortal Instruments was a trilogy. You know why? Because that’s what it was supposed to be! I read the first three and everything was fine. The trilogy was over. Then, I was at the library one day and my eyes landed on City of Fallen Angels and I was like:

Image result for whaaaat gif

I quickly ran to to it and saw that under the title it said, “Book Four of The Mortal Instruments”. Obviously I was going crazy because when I reached for City of Glass it said “Book Three of The Mortal Instruments Trilogy“. So, there I stand trying to do mental math like:

Image result for mental math gif

Clearly a trilogy implies the number three, and yet, here was this book, being number four! Despite my suspicions, I obviously I went and had to read it, cause, you know, I had to. And you know what? I hated it! My reaction went a little like this:

Image result for silver linings playbook gif

Except not really cause it was a library book. And so, I never went back to that series. My final decision not to finish it or read any of the other books in this overly long series (seriously this woman is seriously milking this cow, but you know what, you do you Cassie)  is because of the very sacrilegious nature of the story, but that’s another tale for another day. And so, no more Cassie Clare for me. Sorry, not sorry.


Rebel Belle

8475505I read this book a while back and I loved it! It was soooo good! Like seriously, I recommend. It was funny and cute and totally kickass! But, I have no desire to continue. Then again, knowing me, I might one day surprise you all and come out with some reviews after I read the rest of the series. We’ll see.


Outlander

10964I have read the first two, and will probably read book three, Voyager, since it was originally meant to be a trilogy. Everything that comes after that I probably won’t read. These books are so long, and in my opinion, so boring! What are their plot? These books could be 200 pages less, each, and still make sense. We don’t need eloquent descriptions of every speck of dust floating in the air. I almost died halfway through Dragonfly in Amber. The entire time they were in France felt so unnecessary! They did nothing! Ugh! I can’t! Even the show drags. But hey, Sam Heughan in a kilt is always a good thing, so I am down.

Related image

Just look at him. Look at that beautiful man!


Tiger’s Curse

9284655This book has such a pretty cover. Look at it. It’s wonderful. It invites you in, enchanting you with its pretty color and that pretty tiger. Then, when it has you in it’s grasp, it hits you in the face with a pile of crap. It was that cover that got me to read it. Needless to say, I didn’t like it. The main character Kelsey makes Bella Swan look like a rational human being. I have a whole review hating on it right HERE, but mind you this is from a few years back when I was less mature. Anyway, I tried book two, The  Tiger’s Quest, and I think I almost died while reading. I can’t do it anymore. I can’t.

Image result for done gif


The Gentlemen Bastards

127455I was so excited to get into this book. Everyone raved about The Lies of Locke Lamora and I wanted to be one of those people. So, I went out of my way to get a copy that wasn’t one of those ugly mass market paperbacks. And so, being all excited I began to read it. For the first part, it held my attention. And then, I found myself bored out of my mind. And no, the book itself isn’t boring. It just goes in a million unnecessary directions. It didn’t need to be this gosh darn long! So many things could have been cut, so many things were irrelevant to the main plot, or could have been shortened. This book was just too much and don’t plan on making myself suffer through more of it. But hey, the dialogue was absolutely golden!

(P.s. this book is the reason I am afraid to read The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Rothfuss himself says that this is one of his favorite books ever, that it’s in his Top Five! He also says that there are some things that this book does better than his own, like it has a stronger beginning. And honestly, now I’m doubting The Name of the Wind. Click Here to see what Rothfuss said.)


Saga

15704307This is a graphic novel series by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist). Everyone loves it. Like, a lot. Personally, I was unimpressed. I read volume 1. I wasn’t a fan. I read volume 2. I still didn’t get it. I don’t know what’s with me, but I was unimpressed with it all. Don’t get me wrong, the story is a grand scale thing. It’s creative like nothing else I’ve seen. Some might call it brilliant, in fact, some do. I just didn’t like it and see no point in trying for a third time. Then again,

Image result for third time's the charm gif


That’s all I got…for now

 

13 thoughts on “More Series I Won’t Finish

  1. Ashley (TheQuirkyTraveller) says:

    I completely agree on both your first two selections. I have never really been able to get into Throne of Glass as much as everyone else around. I’ve books 1-4 and have five on my shelf to read but I really can’t be bothered.
    I absolutely loved the Mortal Instruments (1-3). I read the Infernal Devices and loved those too and then she released City of Fallen Angels. I could not believe how bad it was. I struggled to the end and haven’t touched them since.
    With Lies of Locke Lamora, I was vaguely interested in it but not in love. I can definitely see why people like them but I’ll probably never make it to the other books. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel like the problem (or at least one do the problems) with all those books is that they are over hyped. Everyone loves them and then judge people for not loving them too. I’m glad to know I’m not the I my one who shares my opinions. Especially about the Mortal Instruments. It should have been left as a trilogy. And thanks! I’m glad you liked the post!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Christina @ The Bookshelf Corner says:

    That Jon Stewart gif though lol 🙂 And yeah I heard The Mortal Instruments was supposed to be a trilogy but there’s more books in the series (I don’t know how many). I’ve seen this with other series.

    Maria V. Snyder’s Study series was originally a trilogy but then three more books were added. Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters series was originally a trilogy too but then three more books were added. I thought Lynn Kurland’s A Novel of the Nine Kingdoms series was just going to be a trilogy but then it continued on in three-book increments featuring two new different characters. I think Lord of the Rings is a trilogy but then the movies expanded more for some reason….?

    I don’t know. It’s just confusing, you know? Great post though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I hate when authors do that because the continuations are never as good as the originals. And the last three LOTR movies are actually based on another book by Tolkein. Actually, that book came before LOTR so it’s not that they just felt like expanding movies, it’s actually one huge continuous story. It’s just crazy cause the Hobbit is just one book and is shorter then the three LOTR and yet it got to be 3 movies.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Christina @ The Bookshelf Corner says:

        Ah! Thank you for the clarification! I think I was thinking of the Hobbit when I wrote that. I’ve never seen/read LOR or the Hobbit. And agreed, there’s something really special about the story and all the characters you meet in the first three books (of a trilogy) that you don’t quite recapture that same feeling in the other books to follow.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t understand why overly-hyped series gets more books added. If the series was supposed to end with the third book, it really needs to stop there. The next books usually reads forced and strung together on a whim. Great post🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Why… Why do author feel the need to extend a trilogy? It makes no sense… I know it’s all about money and whatnot, but if you wrote the story as a trilogy, everything else after it will probably suck. Probably. There are exceptions.
    I haven’t read anything from this list, except Throne of Glass and honestly have the exact opposite opinion: I loved book one and two, but the following installments just didn’t do it for me.
    Awesome post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! And I haven’t read anything beyond books 1 & 2 of Throne of Glass so I don’t really know. As for the trilogy things, it’s crazy how many series start as trilogies then the author sudden;y decides to write more once it’s popular and earning money. Some stories need to be closed so a new story can start, is what I think. Although, of course, there are exceptions to this. For example, Game of Thrones was supposed to be a trilogy. Thank God it wasn’t though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly, there has to be a reason why you’re continuing the trilogy. A GOOD reason. And most don’t have one. It’s just profit.
        Oh yeah, I can’t imagine ASOIAF being three books alone. There’s way too much to explore! It makes complete sense to continue it. But it’s one of those rare exceptions. In YA, for instance, rarely does a trilogy need to be expanded.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

