Captive Prince – Series Review

Captive Prince Trilogy by C.S. Pacat

One word describes how I feel for this series:

Image result for disappointed gif

This is going to be fairly short, and it;s going to be entirely negative. Just in case the image above wasn’t an indicator.

I know a lot of people who love this series. Love it with all their heart and souls. I also know a lot of people who hate this series. Hate it with a burning passion.

When I began this series I wondered briefly which camp I would fall into. I fell into neither.

The disappointment didn’t come from the fact that I hate this novel. I wasn’t offended by the content or necessarily uncomfortable, although this has a lot of controversial things inside. My disappointed was that I felt absolutely nothing as I read this.

I have on several occasions joked about my masochistic nature when it comes to reading books I know I don’t like. Well, I don’t think it’s a joke because despite giving books one, Captive Prince, only two stars, I went I read the sequel, Prince’s Gambit. It had honestly been less than 24 hours since reading book one that I went and read book two.

Why? Why would I do that?

Because I’m a masochistic reader. That, and I had the wild hope that the second book would change my mind. And so I read it, and while I was a bit more invested in that one, I still only gave it two stars. I was going to stop, but then book two ended in a cliff hanger and so I obviously I had to read the third one, Kings Rising.

The third one was better, but I still felt nothing but a big pile of meh. I am so disappointed in this series. I wanted to feel something. I wanted to love these characters and this world and the story. I wanted to feel something more than indifference. I did not.

The only thing I got from all of this was that I added three books to my Goodreads reading challenge.

Warning: This series includes rape, explicit sex scenes, violence, torture, and murder.

Overall Series Rating:

★★


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

4 thoughts on “Captive Prince – Series Review

  1. Such a shame you didn’t like the series! Captive Prince is my FAVOURITE book series and I love it with all my heart. That is probably because I’ve been reading the series since it started as an online, monthly work on LiveJournal. I’ve been in love with the world and the characters for 7 years now – aside from the Shadowhunter series, I have never been invested in something for that long lol.
    I can understand why some people don’t like it – the first book is really hard to get through – but books 2 and 3 are simply incredible, because of the intense character development. (I sound like I’m a bookseller and trying to convince people to buy the book, sorry!).
    It’s a shame this one missed the mark for you! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad you liked it though, I know that a lot of people do. It’s also hard to not like something for which you have been so invested in. Sadly, it just wasn’t for me. I don’t think it was my kind of story to begin with. And its cool, I always sound like a bookseller for the books I love too lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I’ve honestly not made up my mind about this series yet, cos I’ve only read the first one and I’m still holding out hope for the rest (partly cos I heard it got better, but mostly cos even though I wasn’t blown away by the first book, I’m starting to get intrigued by the characters and want to see what happens with them). Shame it wasn’t totally for you- but I definitely get why.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! If you liked the first one then you might like the rest of the series but if not, I suggest leaving it. Then again, it might just be me because this was not at all what I had been expecting. Had it been a bit more plot and a little less penis, I think I might have liked it more. I don’t like the fact that basically everything that happened revolved around sex and people getting laid. But, who knows, you might find book two better than I did. If you read it I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

