Always and Forever, Lara Jean – The Third Book We Didn’t Need

★★


30312860I wanted to love this. I needed to love this. And I didn’t, and that makes me sad.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was one of the cutest novels I have read. I loved every page of it. When I heard that it was going to have a sequel, P.s. I Still Love You, I was ecstatic. I could not wait to read it until I did and was super disappointed. Still, I had faith and hoped for this last books, and was yet again wanting more than was delivered.

I don’t really know what it is about these books that I don’t like. I just couldn’t get into this or P.s. I Still Love You, as much as I did the first one. I wasn’t as invested in their love story or their struggles. If I’m honest, I had to skim over some parts that just seemed boring to me. It felt like nothing substantial happened in this novel.

As you can see in my title, I don’t think this book was needed. We didn’t need another story. As a stand alone it might have been fine. As a duology, it would have been better (if I had liked the sequel), but as a trilogy, it was just unneeded. Nothing happened here except a bunch of unnecessary drama that built up only to be resolved in the blink of an eye.

That said, there were some things that I did enjoy in the novel.

I, as always, loved Peter. He deserves all the happiness in the world. He is honestly the nicest person, the sweetest, most caring boyfriend. I want to read a book set ten years after this one so I can see how it all turned out. If anything, this future version is what this book should have been. I would have loved it if it had been.

Kitty is the greatest character in this series. She tells it like it is. She’s sassy and true, and loyal and far smarter and wiser than any kid her age has the right to be. After that, all the other side characters were either irrelevant or starting to get on my nerves, especially Margot. I never liked Margot. She’s a hypocrite, and bossy and kinda rude. The girl lives for the sole purpose of raining down on other people’s happy parades. I was sick of it half way through the novel.

I also loved Lara Jean and Peter’s relationship. They were very cute together, and as I already mentioned, Peter is an excellent boyfriend (when he isn’t doubting himself, that is).

Overall, I wish I could say I loved this. I wish I could say I liked it. But, honestly, all I feel for this is meh. I am indifferent to everything that went down in this novel and that’s the most disappointing thing of all.

If you’ve read this and enjoyed it, I am glad. At least some of us liked this story. I don’t know if I will pick up any more of Jenny Han’s books in the future. But, we shall see.

Goodreads


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

5 thoughts on “Always and Forever, Lara Jean – The Third Book We Didn’t Need

  1. Ah I was the same about the sequel, but so I’m not surprised that the third one didn’t live upto the first either- I also felt like this could have just been a really good standalone. I had hoped this one would redeem the series, but c’est la vie. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

