The Broken Ones – ARC Review

★★

(3.5/ 5)


32912370If there is one thing that I took away from this book, is that I need to jump back into the world of The Malediction trilogy. I missed these characters and this plot in a way I didn’t even realize. I now want to drop everything and go read the rest of this series. That’s how good this was.

Admittedly, I didn’t like this book as much as I did Stolen Songbird, the first book in the series, but I do love the world. I love the intrigue, and the schemes, and evil plots. I love the magic and the messed up nature of it all. And I want everyone to go check it out!

I read Stolen Songbird back in 2015 and I loved it. After finishing it went and bought the the sequel, Hidden Huntress, but never really got to it. Now that I’m back in the mood to finish the series, I, of course, went and bought the last book in the trilogy, Warrior Witch.

While this is the prequel, I do not recommend reading it before reading at least the first book in the series, or preferably, the series as a whole.

This book deals with Marc’s story and who he was before Cecile came to Trollus and their entire world was changed. It is a story of doomed love, and the court intrigue I enjoyed so much in Stolen Songbird. It is a story of the birth of a revolution and the sacrifices that went into making it happen.

Having only read book one, there is much that I do not know about the world and the characters. But, from I what I got from book one, I know that the mind of a Danielle L. Jensen is a cunning and dangerous place. This woman writes intrigue like no one else. She schemes and plots and weaves for us a tale of twists and turns. She did this in the first book, and she outdid herself on this one.

The world of Trollus is very complex and very dark, literally. If you have not read at least book one, much of the world building will be lost. The nature of the trolls and their situation is not explained here in detail, but that’s alright, it doesn’t need to be. The world has already been set up at this point and we can focus on the characters.

The charters themselves are very different from what I remember in Stolen Songbird, showing the amount of character development they must have gone through. Surely the events of this book marked all of their lives, but when I return to the series I will not ever be able to see Marc the same way again. Even Tristan, who was spoiled and good willed and manipulative, will never be the same in my eyes. This is yet another reason why I recommend reading the trilogy before this.

This is a book that I definitely recommend, after reading the other books in the trilogy, of course. In fact, I did recommend this series HERE.

Also, the entire Malediction trilogy is on sale on Amazon for only $1.99 each, for a limited time only! There is honestly no better time to pick it up and read it! For the Amazon page click HERE.

{The Broken Ones by Danielle L. Jensen will be published by Angry Robot on June 6, 2017}

**I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

