Down the TBR Hole

Long TBR’s are the best and worst thing out there. There are a half million books I want to read, yet, strangely enough, only 323 on my Goodreads TBR. I don’t really like adding books to my TBR unless I know I will read them, as opposed to the other half million that I am merely interested in but probably won’t read. Also, I usually don’t add to my TBR at all, just add to my ‘currently reading’, and the ‘read’ piles when I pick up the book.

Anyway, I have a lot of book there that I had forgotten about through the years and never got to read. Books that at this point, I never will get to read anyway. So I have decided to do this meme.

Down the TBR Hole is a weekly meme hosted by  Lia @Lost in a Story. This meme is meant to uncluttered your TBR pile, going through each book and choosing which one should go.

Here is how it works:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Since it says to choose either 5 or 10, I am going to pick 7. Just cause I can.

So, here we go!

 

Animal Farm by George Orwell

This is one that I am going to keep. I have been wanting to read this for a long time and will definitely be getting to it eventually. I loved Orwell’s 1984, so I am bound to love this one too.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

This one I think I am going to let go. I own two copies of this book and have never actually had the desire to read it. I got it because I loved the movie back when it came out but I never actually wanted to have to read the book. So, goodbye! For now at least. I might surprise myself and pick it up one day. It just won’t be on my TBR.

Enclave by Anne Aguirre

Um…I don’t know. I don’t really see myself reading this book, if I am honest. But, I own a copy of this book, and it’s sequel Outpost, so I feel bad removing it. So, I guess I’ll leave it there and see what happens.

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

I tried reading this book once. I didn’t get very far. This book is very unique, written entirely, narration, dialogue and all, in a very difficult dialect. I hear nothing but awesome things about this book, sadly, I just couldn’t read it. Literally. I couldn’t understand the words on the page. I am going to leave this one here, just because I might end up listening to an audio book, because I hear the story is pretty great.

The Kill Order by James Dashner

This one is going to go! I do not see myself reading this. Like ever.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld 

I am letting this go! Although I do own a pretty copy of this. I don’t think I’ll read this any time soon. Sorry, not sorry.

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

This too is going! I really wanted to read this at one point, but I no longer see myself picking it up. It’s a shame. I might have liked it once upon a time.

That’s all for now! Let’s see how many books I cut off next time!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

6 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole

  1. I have also recently removed The Kill Order from my TBR! Back when I first read the TMR trilogy I probably would have read it but now I just don’t see myself reaching for it! And I have The Help on my TBR but I’m not sure if I’ll ever get around to reading it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

