The Greek Gods Book Tag!!

Hello, hello! I have been tagged by Zuky @The Book Bum to do this super fun tag. I have always been fascinated with Greek mythology so when I saw this, I got super excited to do it. This tag was created by Zuky herself so you can go to her blog to check out the original post! Now, with out further ado, let’s do it!

Rules:

  • Pingback to Zuky’s post
  • You can use Zuky’s graphics if you like, but you don’t have to if you don’t want
  • Tag as many people as you want, but please, share the love

Zeus

ZEUS: KING OF THE GODS – YOUR FAVORITE BOOK

This is always a hard question because I don’t think I have one true favorite book that I love more than any other. But, for the purposes of this question, I’m going to say Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. This is a book that I have been raving about for months so I guess I can say that it is currently my favorite.

Hera

 HERA: QUEEN OF THE GODS – A BADASS FEMALE CHARACTER

This has to go to none other than Inej Ghafa from Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. This girl is unstoppable! She is good, and kind, and gentle, and can probably kill a man without breaking a sweat. The reason I like her so much is not just because she is physically able, because what makes her strong is not the fact that she can fight and kill and all of that. I love her because she is strong willed and has somehow managed to walk away from all the horrors of the world with a smile on her face. I could read a whole book on Inej Ghafa alone.

Janus

JANUS: GOD OF BEGINNINGS – YOUR FAVORITE DEBUT(S)

This is a good question. So good in fact that I had to make a quick trip to my Goodreads page to see which books might fall into this category. Thankfully, I found several. The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. Yes, I just used this book, and no, I don’t care. Since Emily Bronte only wrote one novel this technically counts as her debut. Sadly, it’s also the last one *cries*

Athena

ATHENA: GODDESS OF WISDOM – YOUR FAVORITE NON-FICTION BOOK

Well, this is awkward. 99% of my shelves are fiction. In fact, I would say I am almost exclusively a fiction reader. But I am going to say the Bible, just cause. (And if anyone wants to go into the comments and talk about it being a fictitious work I will honestly fight you. I don’t speak ill of other people’s beliefs so don’t speak ill of mine). Anyway, moving on. I think the lesson learned is that I need to read more non-fiction.

Aphrodite

APHRODITE: GODDESS OF LOVE – A BOOK YOU ADORE AND RECOMMEND EVERYONE READ (OTHER THAN YOUR FAVORITE BOOK!)

This goes to Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I have told everyone I know to drop everything and read this book. It’s so good! Go read it!

Hades

HADES: GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD – AN EVIL BOOK YOU WISH DIDN’T EXIST

Is it wrong that like four different books came to mind when I read this question? I like to believe that I am a fair person when it comes to rating books. I would also like to believe that I am a very understanding person, all open minded and whatnot. But there are some books out there that I think should not have been written. Some books I hate with a passion. These are some of those books: Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren, Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning, Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover, Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer, Fallen by Lauren Kate, just to name a few. If you love these books, more power to you! I’m glad at least one of us liked them.

Poseidon

POSEIDON: GOD OF THE SEA & EARTHQUAKES – A BEAUTIFUL & GROUND-BREAKING BOOK

This has to go to The Kite Runner By Khaled Hosseini. This book broke my heart. More than that, it opened my eyes a bit. I must admit that Afghanistan is one of the farthest things from my mind. Yes, I know the things that happen on the news and all but it’s not the same. I had never actively thought about what happens there, about the people there. And to read this novel, showing the before and after of this nation was shocking. I had never thought about what it was before the Taliban, before these wars, before the chaos. I had never through about what those people went through. And although this is a work of fiction, it got me thinking a lot about real life issues. I highly recommend this novel, although, I warn that there are graphic depictions of rape, child abuse, child rape, attempt at suicide, and murder.

Apollo

APOLLO: GOD OF THE ARTS – A BEAUTIFUL BOOK COVER

13188676Trying to shake off some the seriousness of that last post, let’s talk about pretty covers! I love covers, that’s why the blog is called The Book Cover Girls, after all. Of all the covers I love, I think I love the Shatter Me series covers. Especially, the cover to Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. I mean, look at it. It’s glorious!

Hypnos

HYPNOS: GOD OF SLEEP – A BOOK SO BORING YOU ALMOST FELL ASLEEP

Hands down, Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. I pushed myself through this 500+ page novel, hating every second of it. And then, probably because I am secretly a masochist, I tried to read the sequel! Thankfully I DFN’d that before I died of boredom! But hey, the movie version wasn’t too bad.

Hermes

HERMES: MESSENGER OF THE GODS – A BOOK YOU SPED THROUGH

I have sped through a lot of books, but this has to go to Winter by Marissa Meyer. This book is 800+ pages, and I read it in one day! Why, you might ask, did I dedicate an entire day to reading this? Because, as I have mentioned before on another post, I had preordered it and it was accidentally delivered to me a day before it’s official release day, and since I am me, I wanted to read it before the everyone else.

Well…

Image result for that's all folks gif

So…Who do I tag?

Some old friends…some new…some in between

Laura @The Book Corps | Well Read Twenty Something | A Book A Thought| En El Jardin Ingles |  Emma @Book Emma |Emma The Stacked Shelf | Emma @It’s a Reader’s Life | Raynn @Raynn the Reader | Brookie @Brookie Cowles (By the way, Brookie is holding an awesome giveaway on her blog! Check it out HERE!)

(Also, did you notice the three Emmas? A lot of my new followers are named Emma. This is only some of them. That’s wild! But yay for Emma!)

Link back to this post so I can see your answers!

{Please don’t feel obligated to do this tag if you have already done it, or simply don’t want to}


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

12 thoughts on “The Greek Gods Book Tag!!

Leave a Reply

