The Blogger Recognition Award

I have been tagged! Thank you so much Zuky @The Book Bum. I love her blog and I am sure you will too so if you haven’t yet, by all means, go check her out! I love doing these types of things so let’s hop right on to it!


Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 10 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

 

How My Blog Began

I have explained this in several other posts, but I will gladly do it again. I had wanted to start a blog for a very long time. For years, if I am honest. I love talking about books and sharing my thoughts and also seeing what others had to say. But fear always stopped me. Fear of what, I now wonder. Fear of throwing my voice into the emptiness of the universe and it being ignored. Fear of trying, of giving my opinion because I didn’t want to be judged. Then one day, my friend Rosie told me she would do it with me. Suddenly, I was less afraid, although I admit that my hands actually trembled when I put up that first post. I felt that if there were two of us then maybe our collective voices would matter. That if I had someone backing me up, my opinions would be more valid and it wouldn’t matter what anyone said because someone would be by my side. Now that I have spent a few months in this community I realize that my fear was for nothing and that all of you have been nothing but kind, and for that, I thank you. Now, Rosie has retired (sort of) now that I am confident enough to stand on my own. I explain all of that and more in this post. Anyway, this is how my blog began.

 

Advice

Be you.

More than what you say, it’s how you say it. There are a million reviews out there for each book you can think of. There are a thousand bloggers making similar posts. So, why should anyone bother to read yours? Because yours should be unique. They should be an extension of yourself. It’s your voice that people want to see in your writing. So, always try to let true yourself shine through. When people read what you write let it be as if they are listening to you, not anyone else causes then they might as well be reading that other person’s blog.

Don’t be afraid to be controversial

If you have an opinion, state it. If there is one thing I have a lot of, its opinions, and most of them are unpopular. And you know what, I’ve learned not to care. If you have something to say, say it. If you gave one star to a book everyone else loved, that’s fine. No one wants to see a cookie-cutter review. People want you. They want what you have to say. Also, just like with my previous advice, you are doing this for you. In the end, it’s about you voicing your thoughts, what else is the point if not to be yourself. Just do what you do and do it how you want. Your blog is yours. Your blog is you. Show that. That’s the best advice I can give you.

 

So…who do I nominate?

I know that it says to nominate 10 people, but it’s late at night and I am lazy, so I am nominating 5.

Some are old friends, some are new. Some, lay somewhere in between.

Ifrah @Ifrah Reads | Lucinda @Lucinda is Reading | Love Books Group | Laura @The Book Corps | Brookie @Brookie Cowles

Link back to this post so I can see your answers!

{Please don’t feel obligated to do this tag if you have already done it, or simply don’t want to}


Hey, you!

Want to win FREE books? I bet you do.

Join our giveaway! Everyone is welcome!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

8 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

