Series I Didn’t Finish

Once, there was a time in which I felt the terrible obligation to finish series. Admittedly, this led me to read series I loved and would never have known if I had stopped at book one, for example, The Lunar Chronicles, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Red Queen (although this one is still a bit iffy). It has also led me to read books that I have absolutely abhorred and to then read their sequels, cause you know, masochism. Anyway, that burning sense of loyalty to books I dislike has diminished as I have grown as a reader. I now no longer feel the need to submit myself to suffering at the hands of books.

While I admit that very, very few have been that times in which I have DFN’d a book (I still feel obligated to finish each individual book I read) I have learned to let certain series go. These are some of the ones I have detached myself from and will never, EVER, even try to finish.

The Immortals by Alyson Noel

3975774Honestly, what even is this series? How does it have a decent rating? How did they manage to publish six of these without the people rioting? Not just how, but why? I have never met a real life person who actually likes these books. Go on Goodreads and you will see that all the top reviews for Evermore are one-star reviews! This book is all the cliches in one. I almost died halfway through book two and needless to say, book two is where I stopped. Still, sprinkled throughout, you will find people showering praise onto this book and this series. And if you are one of those people then I am sorry, I do not mean to offend when I say that in my opinion (key word being opinion, so don’t get mad) that this book sucks. A lot. I don’t recommend.

The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia & Margret Stohl

6304335So, I read this. Once. Many years ago. I didn’t like it. At all. You see, I read this back when I had that sense of obligation. It was very early on in my reading career. So, while I was bored out of my mind while reading Beautiful Creatures, I went out of my way to obtain a copy (not really, I checked that out of the library) and read the sequel, Beautiful Darkness. I stopped half way through and let it become one of the first books I DFN’d, but the point is, I tried. Why? My sense of duty. That, or masochism, I guess. What another thing could it have been? But, I must admit, I didn’t hate the movie. I saw it once on a plane ride to The Dominican Republic. Not the best movie I’ve seen, but not the worst either. I might have watched the sequel…if I were on another plane ride to the Dominican Republic.

I Am Number Four by Patticus Lore

7747374A lot of people have problems with this series and this author. My reasons for hating this weren’t that deep, I just think this book sucked. So, why would I try to read the sequel? Why? I don’t know why I do this to myself. It’s like I’m hoping books will prove me wrong. You will see with all of these that I at least tried to read the sequel. I sometimes think that it’s nothing but pure masochism that fuels me sometimes. The point is, this sucked. A lot. Again, sorry if you liked this, I didn’t. The movie wasn’t good either. It wasn’t the worst movie ever, but I probably wouldn’t watch the sequel, not even on a plane ride to The Dominican Republic. Sorry, not sorry.

 

Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

6487308Admittedly, I read the first three books of this series. Why? I honestly, don’t know. But, I did. And I hated every excruciating page. There is only the last book, Rapture, that I didn’t read, and will never read. These books are so bad! So, so bad! And there is a movie! Several months ago I saw the trailer for the Fallen movie on youtube. I was so surprised because I had no idea where that had come from, but there it was. And just from that two-minute trailer, I knew that movie would suck. Was I right? I have no idea, I refuse to waste two hours of my life to find out. So, why stop when I only have one book left to finish? Because that demonstrates how little I care about this series.

Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning

6283272Sorry in advance. Then again, not really. I didn’t like this book, and I will not apologize for it. I know that this is a beloved series to many people. I had read so many awesome reviews of this series and I knew I just had to drop everything and read it. And then I did. And I hated every second of it. Explain to me how the rude, manipulative, physically and verbally abusive, shithole known as Jericho Barrons is a suitable love interest. And don’t nobody tell me about his sad and tragic past, the man is an ass, and that is excusing abuse. And excuse my language, I don’t usually curse, but the man is a first class dick. Then the other one (whose name I forget) is totally sexually abusive. Say what you want, but his power is basically sex, and it ain’t cute. And then there is Mac, who everyone said was awesome and strong. Um…what? I didn’t see that. She was a submissive little girl who was the very personification of the dumb blonde trope. Yeah, she talks back to Barrons and then does exactly as he commands all while letting him mistreat her. No. Just no. But, since I clearly like torture I read book two because I hoped and prayed that book two would change my mind. I wanted so badly to love it. Turns out, now I hate it even more. Go figure.

So, these are just some of the completed series that I simply never felt the need to go back to. Life is too short to read books you don’t like!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

 

18 thoughts on “Series I Didn’t Finish

  1. Now I’m tempted to reread the Evermore series… I first read it when I was 12? I think? I remember being in love with the series. I want to see how I would feel now but I also don’t want to ruin that first love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, goodness, Angelica, you just gave me some throwback vibes there. 3/5 series I stopped reading as well and the only other two I didn’t were because I hadn’t read them at all. Fallen was a messsssssss, and I decided not to read the second book…only to have my friend buy me the third one for my birthday. -_- It was great. XD I think I might have made it to the second one for Evermore? Maybe? I think I thought it was semi-great to begin with (I mean, really, younger me?)and then I kept thinking, this is weird. But as you said, there was commitment back then to having to finish a book. And Beautiful Creatures was a peer pressure book that I never connected to either. Goodness, though, this brought me back and helping me question younger book self. Wonderful post!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And there are honestly so many books that I read when I was younger that now it’s like, what was I thinking? Why did I even begin the Fallen, Beautiful Creatures, or Evermore series? All of them were peer preasure books. Everyone else was reading them and I wanted to do it too. Also, younger me had questionable taste, but hey, at least I stopped while I was ahead. I cannot see myself ever reading any of those books today.

      Like

  3. Lia says:

    I think I once read Evermore books one to three, but I never got any further. I did enjoy it though (when I was 14 or something).
    I actually really liked I Am Number Four, and I’ve only to read the last two books of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hahaha brilliant post! I have to admit, I have been warned off the books on this list and haven’t read any of them! But I get what you mean about the beautiful creatures movie- it’s alright for filler, but it didn’t make me want to read the books. And I really do have a similar problem about finishing series even when I don’t want to! I don’t know why I’m so masochistic about it either!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And these are books that have been on a lot of similar lists. They are the kind that get hate from a lot of people so it’s best that you haven’t read them. And I don’t know what it is either! It’s like we feel a sense of duty or responsibility over some series. Thank God I’ve gotten better at ignoring it. Some series should not be finished!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome! Yes for sure! Absolutely, I don’t feel like I’m missing out on any way!! Yes that’s exactly it!! Yes for sure!! There are series I finished in the past where i literally could not understand why I did it!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to think that I had to finish series too, but that drive has long since faded. Though I do refuse to not finish individual books, if I didn’t like the first novel or wasn’t wowed by it I will not continue with the series.
    I have actually never read any of these series so I guess that I dodged a bullet lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

