The Guard – A Selection Novella

★★


20691916It’s not a secret that I am not an Aspen fan. To me, he always seemed so…unnecesary? Is that the right word? I don’t know. He’s just so, bland, I guess.

He dumps the girl he loves, tells her to go and join the selection and marry the prince, and then acts hella petty when she does it. And then he refuses to let her go! Like, boy, could you not. Could you really, really not.

Seeing things from Aspen’s POV was alright, I suppose. I just felt like it was unimportant. At least with The Queen, we got to know a new character and saw a different selection. We also got to see a kinder King Clarkson and his relationship with Queen Amberly. With  The Prince, we got to learn something different also. We see how a bit of Clarkson’s and Maxon’s relationship. We see how Maxon first reacted to America and how their relationship began. With The Guard we got, what?  Just aspen being moody and hating on Maxon. We learned nothing. Honestly, I was just bored.

This isn’t really a review. It’s basically just me hating on Aspen. He should have just let America go, focused on his family and left it all alone.

Well, I guess this review is done now.

Team Maxon all the way!


Hey, you!

Want to win FREE books? I bet you do.

Join our giveaway! Everyone is welcome!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

5 thoughts on “The Guard – A Selection Novella

Leave a Reply

