The Unique Blogger Award #2!!

So, I was nominated twice for this award! You all may have noticed that I posted a Unique Blogger Award not too long ago and that is because I was lucky enough to be nominated twice! The first time was by Grace @Grace Gets Books and you can find that post HERE.

This time I was nominated by Sumaya @Sue’s Reading Corner. Thank you so much, Sue, you are too awesome for words! Also, I loved the questions you asked! I had a great time answering them!

Now, let’s get to it!

The Rules:

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award.
  • Ask them three questions.

 

Sue’s Questions:

What book are you anticipating the most for this year?

There are so many books. Too many to count. One of the most exciting ones is The Flame in the Mist, by Renee Ahdieh. That cover is so pretty! And it’s Mulan! Like a real Asian Mulan! Not that whitewashed version that seems to be The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty. Seriously, why do we need a white version of Mulan? Why do we need Scarlett Johansson to play Motoko Kusanagi (a Japanese woman) in Ghost in the Shell?? Anyway, I’m getting off topic. I’m excited for The Flame in the Mist. Let’s leave it at that.

What is your favorite trope (it can be from any form of media)?

There are so many tropes and I have a love-hate relationship with all of them. My favorite story trope is ‘the quest’. You know what I am talking about. Every good book, especially in the fantasy genre, has a good quest that the hero needs to go on. It’s usually in order to find some random magical object or person (usually known as a McGuffin) that will probably end up being the biggest Deux ex Machina that ever was. It’s dramatic, somewhat predictable, and I love it. I’ve always wanted to go on a quest.

In terms of POVs, do you prefer one or more?

It depends on the story. If it’s done well that I am all for it. The thing about multiple POV’s is that few are the times in which they are done right. Usually, the author creates multiple POVs for the simple sake of doing it. The characters have no personalities and all sound the same. They are all equally bland and boring and there is nothing to distinguish them.  That is not how you do POVs. It’s happened before that I forget whose POV I am reading from half way through a chapter because they are all the exact same! You know who does them well? Leigh Bardugo. Learn from her!. Also, read Six of Crows! It’s awesome! It’s got awesome POVs full of diverse, complex, realistic characters!

 

My Questions:

Standalones, duologies, trilogies or series? Which do you prefer and why?

What is the best book you’ve read so far this year and what’s so great about it?

Do you prefer reading from a male or female POV?


So…who do I nominate?

Some old friends, some new friends, some friends in between

That Wild Soul | Maša & Nuša @Whispers of Thoughts | Jessica @Jessica Marie 493 | Grace @Quirky and Peculiar| Redheaded Booklover| Heather @Books and Words | Rendz @Reading With Rendz | Lola @Loving Little Lola| Qui @Qui Reads

Link back to this post so I can see your answers!


Hey, you!

Want to win FREE books? I bet you do.

Join our giveaway! Everyone is welcome!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

7 thoughts on “The Unique Blogger Award #2!!

  1. Congratulations on the award! YES YES YES to Flame in the Mist, I am so, so eager to get my hands on that one, it sounds fantastic. Did you read The Wrath and The Dawn series ? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

