T5W – April 5, 2017

Top Science Fiction / Fantasy Books on My TBR

I have been trying really hard to get into fantasy books lately because I think that there so many good ones out there that get ignored by mainstream readers. Science fiction too, although a bit less enthusiastically. Hopefully, I can get through all of these books before the years ends.  You know, probably.

All of these are books that have been on my list for years now but, because I am me, I have never actually gotten to them, despite having had both the time and possibility to do so. But, ain’t nobody got no time for regret, so moving on!

Without further ado, these are the top science fiction/fantasy novels I most want to read.

t5w 4-5

These are in no particular order

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

This book (or rather, books) has been on my TBR for almost five years now. Maybe longer. I own all individual seven books. I also own a bind up copy of the entire series. I love the movies and have alway secretly wanted to visit that world. So, why have I not read it? Well, because I am me. And that’s just the kind of thing I do (or don’t do).

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfus

I’ve talked about this book before and of how badly I want to read this. I honestly have never heard an ill word spoken against this novel. I also, as you will see with all the books on this list, own a copy of it. It’s just such a long book that it intimidates me. Reading fantasy like this is always a risk because either I love it and fly through or I hate it and have to force myself to finish. It’s fear that’s stopping me really.  That, and good ol’ laziness. Mostly the laziness, though.

Ready Player One by Earnest Cline

I first heard about this book around four or so years ago. It was highly praised by absolutely everyone and I knew that it was something I was going to enjoy. So, I bought a copy of it. A copy that has sat on my shelf for those four or so years. I honestly don’t know why I even bother buying these books anymore. But I’ll read it. Someday. Soon. Maybe. We’ll see.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

This book is one I got on the very day of its release. I wanted it. I needed it. I bought it. I didn’t read it. And now I’ve put it on this list. I even bought the sequel, Golden Son, on the day of it’s released. I even got it signed! What’s wrong with me?!

Dune by Frank Herbert 

This is a book of classic science fiction. All the hardcore sci-fi fans have read it. All the hardcore sci-fi fans have loved it. I want to be one of those people. I will not consider myself an accomplished reader until I do. But in my defense, I don’t actually own a copy of this book so I don’t feel as bad for not reading it. At least, that’s the excuse I use to feel better about myself.

So…if anyone has any good science fiction or fantasy to recommend, let me know. I promise I will read it. I don’t know when. But I will. Eventually. Sometime before I die. Perhaps. Honestly, who knows.


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE


Hey, you!

Want to win FREE books? I bet you do.

Join our giveaway! Everyone is welcome!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

20 thoughts on “T5W – April 5, 2017

  1. Yo estoy leyendo Ready Player One y me está encantando… en un principio no me convecía pero es muy interesante.
    Las Cronicas de Narnia me las leía hace bastante, me tendría que pegar una reelectura de estosl libros porque se leen rapidimo y son super entretenidos, perfectos para pasar el tiempo.
    Saludos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hola! Siempre digo que voy a leer Las Crónicas de Narnia y nunca lo ago. Quiero leerlos junto entonces quiero tomar una semana del verano en cuál a hay escuela para hacerlo. Y ahora quiero leer a Ready Player One. Vas a hacer una reseña de el? Me gustaría leerlo.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You know how much I love (am obsessed with) Narnia! I can’t wait until you read them. No pressure! The movies differ from the books a little but they are still quite enjoyable! I have wanted to read The Name of the Wind for a while now too…there are just so many books to read!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Red Rising is one of those books that I tell my every year that I’m going to read it but never do. Hopefully this is the year cause I know I would love it too. And I really am looking forward to Narnia. I have built it up so much in my head that I just need to love it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently read The Name of the Wind and am almost done with book 2, The Wise Man’s Fear, which is even longer – 1000 pages, hehe. TNOTW was very good if you like getting completely immersed in a world – all the way down to the daily details. I found it a very enjoyable read, but I’ve heard others complain that little happens for the amount of pages. It’s true that it’s not a fast book – it won’t put you on the edge of your seat very often – but I still found it absorbing and interesting. Keep in mind that TNOTW doesn’t actually end – it goes continuously into book 2. There’s not even a subplot that ends. So if you want an ending, you’ll need to read the whole series. (And book 3’s not even out yet.) Just letting you know!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard similar things about TNOTW, but I also hear that it is simply amazing. And think knowing these things will prepare me for the book, that way I know what I am walking into and am not met with disappointed. Do you know when book 3 will come out? I didn’t know about the not ending. I might wait for all three to be out. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

