T5W – March 29, 2017

Books That Will Become Future Classics

Mark Twain once said that a classic was a book that everyone praised and no one read. To us, they are the lengthy victorian novels or old-timey behemoths to which we find very little with which to relate. But, they weren’t always like that. Like all books, the classics were once shiny and new, read by eager book lovers as the up and coming releases. So, which of the books that are new and shiny to us will our great grandchildren be reading in school?

Let’s find out!

These are in no particular order

t5w 3-28

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Ok, I know. Twilight has been declared a ‘bad book’. It’s cliche, it’s bland, the plot in almost nonexistent up until the end, and the characters are honestly the blandest pieces of white bread that have ever been written. I know all of this. But come on. This is a classic! This book was revolutionary! It started a movement! Remember, everyone hated The Catcher in the Rye when it came out, and look at it now: a classic!

The Hunger Games by Suzane Collins

Contrary to popular belief, the dystopian genre has been around for far longer than the Hunger Games. We have the wonderful, if somewhat frightening, 1984, Farenheight 451, and The Giver, just to name a few. Still, this was the book that brought YA dystopia into the popular sphere. It was new, it was unheard of, it was just like Koushun Takami’s Battle Royale! When they talk of the books of the 2010’s I have no doubt that The Hunger Games will be at the top of the list (and yes I know that the book was published in 2008, but let’s be real, no one really cared about it till 2010).

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This book has literally all the feels. Not only is it deep in content, it is also beautifully written and shows an interesting perspective of the events of World War II. I laughed, I cried, I fell in love with the characters, Death included. I have no doubt that this will be a modern classic, held in the same esteem as many hold The Kite Runner, a book I also love. Honestly, this may already be considered a modern classic.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Do I even need to explain this one? I’ve never read this series but it’s basically a classic already.

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

I admit I have only read the first one in this series, being Mistborn, and it was a three star read for me. Still, it was one of the most original magic systems I have ever encountered, as well as a very well developed world. This is one of those books that will go down as a classic fantasy, standing next to things like Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia. It already seems like that is where it is headed.

{Hey you! Want to win free books? Join our giveaway! All you have to do is be following The Book Cover Girls!}


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

8 thoughts on “T5W – March 29, 2017

  1. I must say I was shocked to see Twilight here at first… but then I read your synopsis… and then considered my general thoughts on some existing classics… and this makes sense! Totally behind Book Thief and HP, of course! 🙂

    Like

  2. Totally agree with all of these! Especially Harry Potter and Twilight. I read an article a few years ago about how those two books changed the way we read. Because of them we read for fun much more than people did before. I totally agreed. Twilight was my first “book in a day” read. After that I couldn’t put books down

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

