T5W – March 15, 2017

Book You Felt Betrayed By

Betrayals come in different forms, big and small. Sometimes books betray us b advertising themselves as one thing, while truly being another. Sometimes they betray us by throwing us a curveball halfway through a series. Other times, it’s the characters themselves the betray us, fooling us and twisting our emotions. Sometimes the betrayal is real when a character you thought was good turns out to be the biggest baddie of them al. It doesn’t matter the way, the point is that at some point or another each and every one of us has been terribly betrayed by books or book characters. These here are those books.

These are in no particular order

Aaron Warner from The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

I read Shatter Me after book three, Ignite Me, had already been released. Basically, I was a bit behind on the times and didn’t know what anyone was talking about when they praised Warner and cheered for him as a love interest. In book one, Warner is honestly the worst human being to have lived. I HATED the guy. I saw no appeal. I could not understand why anyone would want him to live, or even more, why they would want him to end up with the girl. Then I read book two, Unravel Me, fully prepared to hate him, and his story just broke my heart. I felt betrayed! How can he not be the embodiment of evil? How could the hate I felt for him vanish si suddenly? This is not acceptable! I was so ready to keep hating me, and now he is one of my favorite male characters.

Adam from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

This guy. This total and complete a**hole. You start with book one and he’s great. Well, not great, I thought he was pretty generic and the whole relationship was insta-love, but at least he’s a decent human being. Then you read book two and his true colors come out. Unravel Me is a book that messed with my mind. For every good deed Warner did, Adam did something terrible. The more I fell in love with Warner, the more I hated Adam. Honestly, what was wrong with this guy.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

If you have been following my blog for a while then you probably know that I hold a strong dislike for this book. I thought I would be going into a story of friendship and love, that would make me laugh and cry and make me feel good about the world. Basically, I thought I was getting into another cute, and semi deep and emotional contemporary. What I got was a pretentious novel filled to the brim with pretentious teenaged characters who think they are the best things since sliced bread. They are arrogant, they are selfish, and they think they are the only people alive who want to be original or have had deep thoughts. No, Hazel Grace, you are not special! No, Augustus Waters, you are not a modern age philosopher! No, just no! I have never felt more betrayed. I did not sign up for what this book offered. I signed up for something I would actually enjoy.This book just tried too hard.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

I am about to have a very unpopular opinion. Ready? Here it is. I hated this book. It was not, in fact, the best thing since sliced bread, despite everyone alive trying to convince me otherwise. I was not impressed. Not even a little. I suffered through A Court of Thorns and Roses just because I had heard nothing but praise for this novel. I just had to read the sequel. And you know what? I have never been so disappointed. No, I do not think Rhysand is the most amazing guy to ever have been put on paper. No, I do not think Fyre is all that great, she is a whiny special snowflake who can get away with everything cause she’s oh so amazing and ‘speshul’. No, I say. No! Then there is the whole Tamlin thing. Of course, Rhys will look like a knight in shining armor when the competition does a complete 180 and becomes a total dick. This book was over 600 pages of filler. What was even the plot? I was terribly betrayed!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Ready for another unpopular opinion? I didn’t like this book either. This is yet another book that everyone loves. I used to hear nothing but gushing over this novel. It is so many people’s favorite and I really wanted to love it too. After seeing so many five star reviews for this, I felt betrayed for not having enjoyed it. Was the problem with me? Was it with the book? I don’t know, I was just very disappointed. It was betrayal, I tell you! Betrayal!

So, yeah. That’s it. Actually, there are many others I could think of but these are the five that hurt the most. Have any of these books betrayed you?


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

