Caraval Read Along!

And so, the read-along has begun! We will be discussing Caraval by Stephanie Garber, this month. We have been announcing it for a while, giving everyone a chance to read the books and now the moment has arrived!

Hope you join us!

27883214

Title: Caraval

Author: Stephanie Garber

Release Date: January 31, 2017

Page Count: 416

Publisher: Flatiron Books

First Discussion: 3/8/2017 (Today)

Goodreads Synopsis for Caraval

Whatever you’ve heard about Caraval, it doesn’t compare to the reality. It’s more than just a game or a performance. It’s the closest you’ll ever find to magic in this world . . .

Welcome, welcome to Caraval―Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of two sisters who escape their ruthless father when they enter the dangerous intrigue of a legendary game.

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

We, The Book Cover Girls, have been announcing this along with our friend Brookie from @BrookieCowles.  have been announcing this read along for about a month now, letting you all know that we were going to discuss this novel in the month of March.

We will be having a discussion every Wednesday this month starting today March 8th. The next one will be on Brookie’s blog on March 15th so be sure to check that out! This discussion will only be focused only on the first 100 pages of the novel although you could probably comment on other things.

The questions are only to serve as prompts for discussion but feel free to ask your own questions about the first 100 pages and discuss any topic of interest.

Discussion Questions:

  • What were your initial thoughts on the novel? Did you like it? What worked? What didn’t?
  • What are your first thoughts on the characters?
  • What do you think of Julian? Is he good? Is he bad? Do you trust him?
  • What do you think of the relationship between Tella and Scarlett?
  • What do you think of Julian and Scarlett?
  • What do you think of the setting?

Write your answers in the comments and feel free to interact with one another. Also, remember to keep it civil and allow everyone to cast their own opinions.

And obviously, from this point onward. SPOILER ALERT!

16 thoughts on “Caraval Read Along!

  1. I want to see any comments left so I’m leaving a comment too 🙂

    I guess we can start… what do you think of Julian?!?
    I like him, I hate him, he’s honest and sweet, he’s totally lying. I can’t tell.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m only on chapter 13. So far my initial thoughts of the book itself are…….different? It’s not slow but it’s not fast paced either. Scarlett’s character kind of bothers me. She’s very naive for being the “older” sister. Believing that the Count is the answer to all her problems, not trying to see where her sister is coming from, thinking she’s safer at home then at Caraval. I mean you’re there, enjoy it! I sure hope it gets better!
    Oh also I love Julian! He obviously has his own agenda and I’m eager to find out what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t you feel like her reasons for wanting to be home and not upsetting her father are valid? Imagine being in her situation and knowing the laws aren’t you can’t leave the island, and knowing what her father will do if they are caught. I’d probably be more inclined to think the way she does and feel like that count is my savior, someone who can take me away with out the wrath of her father.

      And I love Julian too but like Angelica I’m not sure I trust him. He knows too much. Or acts too smooth. Or something. But something is off.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I agree that in a situation like hers fear is most likely brain washing her to believing she has no other out. However putting so much trust into someone you’ve never even met is just as dangrous, if not more! He could be exactly like her father. With the same temperament. I like that her sister understands the need to get out of a bad situation before it get worse. Especially after his last threat.
        Agreed. Love Julian, but don’t trust him.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally get what you mean. I’m not yet finished but I like Julian so far. Scarlett’s character is the one I’m not too sure about. I also really like Julian, although I don’t think I trust him yet. I hope he ends up being trustworthy in the end. Betrayal always breaks my heart!

    Like

  4. I read the first 100 pages and couldn’t put my book down! I like the comments so far. Like the others, I too, am anxious to find out who Legend is, and why now, why insist that Scarlet bring her fiancé? Who is Julian, really? what is his purpose with Scarlet and Tella? Is he using one to get to the other? And the sisters…. I’m excited to see how the characters develop, and what truly happens in Caraval! Thank you, TheBookCoverGirls and BrookieCowles for hosting this discussion site about the book. I’ll see you all next week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for joining the discussion! College has been killing me so I haven’t finished it yet but it’s really good so far. There are so many questions and I am afraid that they won’t all be answered in this book that we will have to wait a year to know everything. So far who is your favorite character? I like Julian so far but I don’t know if I should. He’s definitely sketchy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

