Bookish Pet Peeves

Let’s be honest, we all have things we hate. Little, irrational occurrences that for reasons out of our control drive us completely mad. Sometimes it is cover changes halfway through a series. Other times it is cliche plot lines that every book written in the history of ever seems to have. Either way, these are the things that we simply cannot stand. So, without further ado, here are some of my bookish pet peeves.

People/Faces

Yes, that is right. I hate people, and I absolutely hate faces. No, I am not a terrible person, but come on, people, and especially faces, on books are not attractive. They are distracting, they are stupid, they are not necessary. Give me a cover that reflects the content of the novel, not models looking dramatically into the distance. And don’t get me wrong, sometimes people work, usually in historical fiction and other such things. But if you are writing a fantasy or dystopian or anything like that, explain to me why there needs to be a model with a pretty dress on your cover? Honestly, who thinks this is a good idea?

 

Stupid Names

For some odd reason, authors have decided that names like Joe, and Emily, and Robert, and other such things, are way too mainstream. Why name your character Maria when you can name her something super creative like Ever (Evermore), or Pagan (Existence) or America Singer (The Selection) (Was America a place in this world? I forget).

The guys aren’t excused either. They get stuck with names like Patch (Hush, Hush), or Maxon (The Selection), or *shudders at memory* Dank (Existence). Who names a character Dank? This is the character who is supposed to be the love interest, the bad boy, the hottie, and you name him Dank? Ross-Why-Would-You-Do-That.gif

I actually have a whole review on this book and the stupidity behind the names HERE, if you are interested. And to authors, you are not being creative with some of these names, you are being silly. But hey, it’s your book. Do what you want. I’ll just sit here laughing at your bad decisions.

 

Lost Prince/Princess

YA kingdoms need to get their lives together. You can’t go around losing royalty like that. Heirs to entire nations can’t just be picked up at any gas station at your convenience. Guard these kids! And if you fail, don’t be surprised when they come back a couple of years later, when they are between the ages of 16-18 and want to reclaim their thrones. And if you are the enemy kingdom who thought you had gotten rid of the last royal family, do not rest until you see that body! These kids will come back to haunt you, and somehow, despite being only kids and probably inexperienced, will raise and army and defeat you. This is honestly the plot of every other YA fantasy ever, including but not limited to:

 

Love Geometry

We have all heard of the love triangle. It has been mentioned a lot of times, being one of the most common bookish pet peeves a person can have. Don’t get me wrong, love triangles suck (for the most part), but I can handle that. Trigonometry, while not my favorite class, was a class that I could handle. It was annoying, but not too hard. Now, I am not ashamed to say that Geometry is the only class for which I ever got  C in high school. It was the single hardest class I have ever taken, not even chemistry or physics could top it. But, why am I talking about math and shapes? Because I thought I was done with math and shapes. It is one thing to add a love triangle, it is another to add a love dodecahedron (a shape with 12 faces). I don’t want to have to draw lines from multiple characters to others while I try to figure out who loves who. No. Just don’t. I don’t need this in my life.

 

Houses/Factions

I don’t know what it is about YA that loves to categorize people. We are all about equality and all that jazz but then we go out of our way to segregate ourselves and as Plessy Vs Ferguson taught us is that ‘separate but equal’, is not a thing that should happen. Now, this is not anything political or about race. I’m not getting that deep into it, although I probably could. I just want to know why it happens. Why are we so obsessed with separating ourselves. Why do we hurry to claim a Hogwarts house or a Faction or whatever it is? And why are this houses/factions never really our choice? We don’t say, I want to be Slytherin or Ravenclaw. We take a quiz and let the hat decide for us. We don’t say, I want to be Erudite or Candor, again, we take a test and figure it out. What if I want to be something else? What if I don’t want to be labeled?  And before you say that if I don’t want to be labeled then I shouldn’t do it, which I haven’t, I have no House or District or Faction, just ask yourself why we feel the need to do so. Also, I’m just kinda sick of it as a plot device.

 

This is all for now. I am writing this at while I have an entire essay to write that I haven’t started. When I think of more things, and trust me, there are many more things, I will write another post.

Do you agree with my pet peeves? What are your bookish pet peeves? What do you absolutely hate in books? Let me know in the comments!


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

19 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. This is an awesome post! I agree with everything, only, I SAY I don’t like the lost prince/princess trope, but I always get so excited when I can see a book going that way lol (expect Sarah J. Maas takes that to extremes lol)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I look forward to your part two! I’d say one of my pet peeves would be naive parents in YA novels. Like, no parent is just around to cook meals and tell their child to have fun while they are out. I mean, I know that YA novels focus on the teens, but come on!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. OMG yes! Parents in YA are either terrible humans determined to make life difficult or complete idiots who are entirely oblivious to their kids secret lives. I don’t know what kind of parents these authors are basing their characters on but no real patents I know are like that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

