Birthstone Book Tag

Hello, hello! Another book tag! I love doing these so, here we go!

This tag was originally created by Booktuber Jay G. I was not tagged by anyone but thought that it would be fun to so. Therefore, I say that if anyone wants to do it, they can consider themselves tagged be me!


January (garnet): associate with warding off negative forces and dark energies – name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

This goes to my favorite, The Darkling, from Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. The dude is bad to the bone. He is not above torturing even his own mother to get what he wants. That said, he also kind of believes that he is doing the right thing by his people. Such a sad, hateful man. I love him!

February (amethyst): purple is associated with royalty – name a book with regal qualities… you can base this off of characters or choose the king of all books.

The Lunar Chronicles wins this one. Such awesome, queenly characters.

March (aquamarine): washed out – name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower.

Bella Swan from Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. She is such a weak character. Like seriously, she doesn’t even know what she’s doing with her life. This is also coming from a person who loves Twilight, so it’s not like I am blind it its many, MANY, flaws. Bella is one of them.

Then there is America Singer from The Selection series by Kiera Cass. I have recently read The Elite and I must say that while this series is a bit of a guilty pleasure for me, I kind of wanted America to just trip, fall of a steep cliff, and die. Honestly, this woman is too much.

April (diamond): a diamond in the rough – name a book that you loved but is not well known.

I feel like I have mentioned this book a lot lately but that is scarlet by A.G. Gaughen. Also, The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke, although this one has certain problems plot wise that may bother some people, I still love it.

May (emerald): said to balance energy – name two characters who balance each other well.

Radu and Lada, the brother and sister from And I Darken by Kristen White. They have such a strange, twisted relationship and I love it. Their relationship was my favorite part of the book.

Also, Percy and Annabeth from the Percy Jackson, and Heroes of Olympus series. They really are the perfect pair.

June (pearl): associated with loyalty – name a character who is loyal to the end.

Samwise Gamgee. I’ve never read Lord of the Rings, but I have seen the movies and Sam is the most loyal person I’ve ever seen. I don’t know how he managed to put up with all of Frodo’s crap and remain a good person through it all.

tumblr_mqga3kl9bp1r3bfi4o2_250

July (ruby): blood red – name a book that made your blood boil, one that made you angry.

Life and Death by Stephenie Meyer. Have you all heard the saying, ‘if it ain’t broke don’t fix it’? This is one of those things. Twilight did not need an underdeveloped, rushed, idiotic, sexist, gender swapped version of itself. Just, no.

Also, Bloodfever, the second book in the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. I can’t even think of this book without seeing red. The first one was also terrible.

August (peridot): pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems) – name a supporting character who you like better than the main character

Leo Valdez from The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. I haven’t read the rest of the Heroes of Olympus series, but I can already tell that besides Percy, Leo will be my favorite. He was a much more interesting character than Jason, the main character in book one. I just really didn’t like that guy. See my review for details.

Also, the Lunar Chronicles. Cinder and her book was my least favorite of all the girls.

September (sapphire): blue like the ocean which is calming – name a book that had a calming effect on you.

This goes to Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. This book calms me, it makes me happy. It is the book I have reread the most. It was the book that got me into reading in the first place. Reading it is like going to my happy place.

October (opal): iridescent – name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (shiny? Lots of colour?) Or you can base it off of a character (quirky? Colourful?)

I may not have enjoyed this book, but, Magonia by Maria Dhavana Headley has one of the most beautiful covers out there. Seriously though, you should check it out.

November (topaz): associated with resilience – name a books with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Kaz and his crew simply cannot catch a break. Anything that could go wrong will go wrong, and these guys will, someway, somehow, find away around it.

December (blue zircon): associated with friendship – name a book with a friendship you want to be apart of.

I’ve never read Harry Potter so I can’t choose that trio as everyone else seems to have done. I have, on the other hand, read Percy Jackson and the Olympians, so, I would have to go with Percy, Annabeth, and Grover.


Check out our 2017 Reading Challenge

 

 

3 thoughts on “Birthstone Book Tag

Leave a Reply

