T5W – February 1, 2017

Current Non Bookish Favorites

We all love books. Obviously. But, we also love many other things in life. We love TV shows, and movies, and music, and art, and people, and a lot of other things I won’t list. The point is, we have a lot of interest both within and without the realm of literature. So, without further ado, here are all the non bookish things I currently love.

1. Peaky Blinders

80002479On Christmas day I was sitting around doing nothing, being bored, and very lazy. Basically, the perfect time to watch TV. So, sitting there scrolling through the never ending stream of old shows and new Netflix originals, I came across this BBC show titled Peaky Blinders. I didn’t think much about it, just clicked. I had seen it before and decided today was the day. Let’s just say that I watched season one (only six episodes) that same night, and a few days later was done with the series (currently, just three seasons). This show is amazing! I loved every second of it!

It’s about the Shelby family, a group of start up gangsters in 1920’s England. There is action, drama, romance, intrigue, and a little violence, so be warned. Anyway, the cast is amazing, the sets are realistic, and the plot never has a dull moment.

I can’t wait for season 4 to come out!

2. Waffles

waffle-houseNot too long ago I went to Georgia and out of all the things I took away from that trip was the fact that Georgians must seriously love waffles. We couldn’t drive for two minutes without seeing a Waffle House. I kid you not, on one street there were two Waffle Houses. There was a house on one corner, a building at the center of the block, and then another waffle house at the other corner. That is insanity!

Anyway, I obviously had to try a Waffle House. I would not leave Georgia without a waffle! And you know what? I now have the burning desire to eat waffles every day. Waffle House waffles are the best things ever. Their hash browns are like little pieces happiness. Sadly, where I live the nearest Waffle House is 40 minutes away. *sigh* I guess I’ll have to settle for waffles out of a box.

3. Westworld

1274080_mkt_pa_westworld-s1_po_v1_pThis is a show I can’t go into since anything I say will most likely be a spoiler. Let’s just say that I had never seen anything like it. Ever.

It’s a sci-fi western, if that does not entice you, I don’t know what will. It has great mystery, amazing actors, lots of action, and a fantastic story line.

My roommates and I would get together every Sunday night, when the episodes aired, and watch this show. We would theorize and wonder about what was going to happen next, then get frustrated because we really didn’t know. There are so many twists and turns that it will always keep you guessing.

It’s best to go into it without knowing anything, but I recommend this to everyone.

4. Oscar Wilde

oscar_wilde_portraitI know that he’s bookish, but he’s a person, not a book. Also, I’ve never actually read any of his work. Yes, I know what you are thinking, how can you love an author whose work you haven’t read. But, let me tell you, Oscar Wilde is possibly the sassiest, most sarcastic, most awesome author that has ever been.

I’ve read all his most famous quotes and I have decided that he is among one of my favorite people. I have been planning to read The Picture of Dorian Gray for a while now, and since discovering that Wilde is absolutely amazing, that desire has only increased. I can’t wait to be a fan of his writing!

 

5. Socks

socsPeople have been hip to socks for a while now, it seems it was just me who had not yet gotten that memo. I used to wear plain socks, not paying much mind to what they looked like. Lately though, I seem to have an ongoing competition with my roommates to see who wears the nicest, most decorative socks. Seriously though, what has society come to? I actually own too many socks now, more than I can wear, and it’s not like people really ever get to see them. And every time I see a nice pair I have the need to buy them. I think I have a problem.


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE

5 thoughts on “T5W – February 1, 2017

  1. I love Oscar Wilde ❤ I named my pet parrot after him. I totally agree with your comment about his quotes. He has some truly inspirational ones … and some awesomely sarcastic ones as well 😛

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve read The Importance of Being Ernest and The picture of Dorian Grey. His fairy tales are my favourite, both The Happy Prince and Other Tales, and A House of Pomegranates. Somewhat well-known, but highly underrated tales in my opinion 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

