This or That

Book Cover Editions

Not all book covers are created equal. Some are good, some are bad, some are downright ugly. But, alas, we the readers have no say in the makings of such things. Luckily for us, many books have different editions for us to choose from. The question is, which is better?


The Wrath & The Dawn -Renée Ahdieh

18798983  Or.jpg 32370233

I love both of these covers. Look at them. Look closer. Are you in love yet? Now, if I had to choose I would go with… *drumroll please*…cover number two! There is a mystery in that cover. It is dark and beautiful and unlike all the YA covers out there. This is a book cover that promises adventure and exotic settings, and it is a book that delivers just that.

 

An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

20560137-1   or   23569524

Ok, time for honesty. I don’t like either of these covers. I know, I know, that’s not how this should work. But, worry not, despite not being a  fan of either of these, I still do have a favorite. I love covers with black backgrounds and pretty fonts so I have to give it to cover number two. Still, cover number one does have a certain charm, most of it revolving around the fact that it is the edition I own and therefore should not be complaining about it, so I am inclined to give it the prize.

 

And I Darken – Kiersten White

27190613.jpg   or   25324111.jpg

Both of these are, in my opinion, beautiful covers. They both represent something in the book and I wish I owned them both. One is a delicate flower getting destroyed by a spear, all while keeping its beauty. This is indicative of Lada, a badass little girl who is both fragile and deadly. The other cover is of scary looking girl covered in war paint, glaring at you through the book. This too is indicative of Lada, who would dress for war and look amazing while doing it. But, when it comes to truly capturing the essence of the novel, I would have to go with cover number ….

I’m leaving that as a cliffhanger because I am a cheater. Sorry. But no, I’m not. It’s too close to pick.

 


These covers are from different editions of the book and do not represent cover changes. We have a post on cover changes right HERE if you would like to check that out. These are covers for two editions currently in print, whether it be because of different format (paperback/hardcover etc.) or because of different publishers having the right to the same book, or due to foreign editions having different covers.

I’ll find some more covers soon a probably do a follow up to this.

Tell me, what are your favorites of these covers?

 

9 thoughts on “This or That

  1. I think I like the first from The Wrath & The Dawn, the second from An Ember In The Ashes and the first from And I Darken. I’m choosing the one with the flower for Am I Darken because I think if I were to see the cover with the girl with the warrior paint, I wouldn’t think it would be something I’d enjoy (not that I know whether I’d enjoy the book because I haven’t read it).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both covers for And I Darken are pretty representative of the thing with in the novel, the first is just a little more symbolic. That said, I totally get what you mean. If I had not read the book before seeing the second cover, I don’t think I would have picked it up. As for the book, I hope you read it and enjoy it. I liked it, but it might not be for everyone.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the first covers of the last two, but I like the second cover of The Wrath and the Dawn better than the first. 🙂 And I’ve only read And I Darken… I need to hurry up and read the other two! I’m like the last person that hasn’t read them yet probably. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really enjoyed both The Wrath and the Dawn and An Ember in the Ashes. I definitely recommend! Ember in the Ashes is a bit darker and more focused on action while Wrath & Dawn is more focused on romance, but they are both great. Hope you enjoy them when you get to them! And don’t worry, my co-blogger hasn’t read them either lol.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

