Rapid Fire Book Tag

Hello there everyone! I have recently been tagged by Kourtni @Kourtni Reads to do this tag, so thank you very much for tagging me!!

As it is the rapid fire book tag, I shall waste no time on intro and simply dive right in.

Here we go!


Ebooks or Physical Books?

Trick question.

I love them both and each has their advantages. I own more ebooks than physical books, mostly because they are cheaper and easy to store. But, I would rather own and hold a physical book.

 

Paperback or Hardback?

Hardcover!

I love hardcover books. They are sturdy and nice and look perfect on the shelf. On the other hand, reading a paperback is much more satisfying for some reason. Still, if I could only have one I would say hardcover, just for aesthetic reasons. Because I’m shallow like that.

 

Online or in-store book shopping?

Hard question.

Online shopping for the price. In-store shopping for the feel. But since my wallet currently has more control than my feelings when it come sto book buying, most of my book shopping is online.

 

Trilogies or series?

Series!

Trilogies are so cliche. 95% of all popular YA, with the exception of YA contemporaries, comes in the form of a trilogy. I like long series that I can get into. I like when there are five or more books in a series, just so I can display them on my shelves and enjoy them thoroughly. (There I am again with the shelf display)

 

Heroes or villains?

Villains!

I’ve always thought that a hero is only as good as his villain. A weak villain will equal a weak hero and therefore a story is at its best when the bad guy is well written and amazing. I am all about the villain, they are, to me, the most interesting characters in the book.

 

A book you want everyone to read?

1984 by George Orwell.

When I read this book in high school, I was blown away! It wasn’t because I necessarily loved the characters or the plot or anything. It was because it made me think, and view the world a bit differently, and with a bit more skepticism.

 

Recommend an underrated book.

Scarlet by A.G. Gaughen!

11983940.jpg

I read this book a few years back and I completely fell in love with this. It is a take on the story of Robin Hood, in which Robin’s young companion, Will Scarlet, is actually just Scarlet, a girl on the run. I did not expect it to be as good as it was and I am surprised that not as many people know about it. Y’all should go read this. Like now.

 

The last book you finished?

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven!

18460392.jpgAt least, that is what it was at the time of my writing this post. Who knows what it will be when the post goes up in a few days. My review of it is HERE.

 

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

A bookmark is, to me, anything you can wedge in a book to keep your place. I have used things from napkins, ribbons, hair ties, to paper money. The weirdest though has to be the time I used a smaller book as a bookmark. I was desperate!

 

Used books, yes or no?

Of course!

Used books are the best books, especially because they are extremely cheap. I love going to used bookstores and library book sales. I love it especially when the used books are in peak condition. It’s like getting a new book for the fraction of the price.

 

Top three favorite genres?

I read everything within the realm of YA, and many things outside of it. My favorites though have to be fantasy, sci-fi, and, recently, contemporary. Exactly in that order.

 

Borrow or buy?

Both!

Sometimes I do both for the same book. If I get a book from the library that I absolutely loved, I go out of my way to own a copy of it as well. The whole point of reading is that you read, I don’t think it matters how you acquired the book.

 

Characters or plot?

Characters!

Always, characters. There have been many books whose plots have stalled but which I have rated four and five stars based on characters alone. There have also been books with great plots, but boring characters and that have made the reading experience worse than it should have been. A recent example of this is The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. The plot was fast and all, but Jason was such an annoyingly boring character. Read review for details.

 

Long or short book?

Short!

Really it depends on the book. I like books that are as long as they need to be. Not a page more, not a page less. If it gets the job done then I’m good, regardless of the page count.

 

Long or short chapters?

Same as above!

If the chapters need to be long then it’s fine. If they need to short, that is fine too. Whatever works best.

 

Name the first three books you think of.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (a book I just bought). The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (a book I own and haven’t read and whom I only thought of because of it’s similarity to the last book’s title). Caraval by Stephanie Sampler (a book for which we will soon be doing a Read Along)

1232  186074  27883214

 

Books that make you laugh or cry?

Cry!

Anything can make a person laugh or even just chuckle. From a crude joke to someone slipping on a banana peel. But, to make someone cry is, I think, the ultimate achievement. It means that you have made someone feel something, which is, after all, the whole point of art.

 

Our world or fictional worlds?

Fictional!

Fictional worlds are always messed up, which I get, or else there would be nothing for our hero to fix. Still, our world is pretty messed up too, so I might as well go to Narnia or something and have an adventure before I die.

 

Audiobooks: yes or no?

Maybe.

The only book I seem to be able to fully listen through audiobook are contemporaries. For all other things, especially fantasy, I need to be able to be holding the book and looking at the words to fully get into it.

I’ve tried listening to several audiobooks and haven’t been able to stick to any of them so I’m going to go with no, even though I’m still hopeful I’ll be able to get into them.

 

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Of course!

This blog ain’t called The Book Cover Girls, for nothing!

 

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

Movie!

I know, I know, how can I say that. As book lovers we want every detail of a beloved book to be put on the screen, and what better way to do that than with a TV show. But, frankly, as a semi busy person, I ain’t go time for that! I want to watch a 2 hour movie and move on! I rarely watch TV shows and when I do it’s on Netflix where I can binge it. I don’t have time for that kind of commitment!

 

Series or standalone?

Series!

Unless it’s for a YA contemporary, I want to read series. I want to follow up on those fictional worlds and go deeper into their developments. Of course, that doesn’t mean that authors need to over do it. I can think of a couple of series that should seriously just end. The story is done, the villain defeated. Why keep going?

 

 


Ok, so I may, or may not, have cheated. The point was to give quick, short answers. But when have I ever been known to give one word answers. If it’s not at least a full sentence, there is a problem. That said, feel free to do this how you like. There need not be any explanation to your answers.

Anywho…

For this I am tagging:

Brookie @Brookie Cowles

Creative Minds 101

Quionna @Qui Reads

Nour @An Ink Utopia

Lashaan and Trang @Bookidote

Rendz @Reading With Rendz

If you have already done this tag, or just don’t want to do it, there is no obligation and you can simply ignore me. But, for those that will do it, I cannot wait to see your responses!

 

10 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

  1. I loved reading your answers! I’m hoping to read 1984 at some point this year. Unfortunately current events are making it more relevant than I would like it to be…
    I’m incredibly amused that you’ve used a smaller book as a bookmark. I could honestly see myself doing the same thing, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

