T5W – January 25, 2017

Underrated Books

At any given time there are a group of popular books that dominate the market. You know what I am talking about, those handful that every booktuber, blogger, and readers keep stuffing into our faces and we eat them up because we simply do not know of better books. Yeah, these here are not those books. These are the books that don’t get advertised. The ones that get seemingly overlooked by everyone for preference to the big name titles. These are my favorite books you’ve probably never heard of, and if you have, probably have never read. 

These books are in no particular order

Scarlet by A.G. Gaughen

11983940

Will Scarlet is good at two things: stealing from the rich and keeping secrets – skills that are in high demand in Robin Hood’s band of thieves, who protect the people of Nottingham from the evil sheriff. Scarlet’s biggest secret of all is one only Robin and his men know…that she is posing as a thief; that the slip of a boy who is fast with sharp knives is really a girl.

This book was so good. I did not expect to love it as much as I did. The plot was intense, the characters were all lovable. It was just awesome. 5/5 for me.

The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

13533650.jpg

 

Ananna of the Tanarau abandons ship when her parents try to marry her off to another pirate clan. But that only prompts the scorned clan to send an assassin after her. When Ananna faces him down one night, armed with magic she doesn’t really know how to use, she accidentally activates a curse binding them together.

Ok, so that synopsis sounds cheesy, I know. But, the book is pretty good, or so it is in my opinion. I know a lot of people who did not like this book, which is fine, but since this is is a list about what I think, not them, I am adding it on! The lot was fast paced and filled with magic, topped off with an mythical middle eastern setting, I really enjoyed this.

 

Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

12700353

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.
Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.
And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.

Ok, so this book is actually pretty well know. It was even a movie, which made me cry for days, by the way. Still, this is a book that is greatly underrated. Everyone loves The Fault in Our Stars, well, I love this book. The characters are real people, not pretentious characters, sorry Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster (even their names sound pretentious). But enough on that, it’s public knowledge that I didn’t like TFIOS, and if you agree with me, then you should give this a chance.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

19549841.jpg

Four decades of peace have done little to ease the mistrust between humans and dragons in the kingdom of Goredd. Folding themselves into human shape, dragons attend court as ambassadors, and lend their rational, mathematical minds to universities as scholars and teachers. As the treaty’s anniversary draws near, however, tensions are high.
Seraphina Dombegh has reason to fear both sides. An unusually gifted musician, she joins the court just as a member of the royal family is murdered—in suspiciously draconian fashion. Seraphina is drawn into the investigation, partnering with the captain of the Queen’s Guard, the dangerously perceptive Prince Lucian Kiggs. While they begin to uncover hints of a sinister plot to destroy the peace, Seraphina struggles to protect her own secret, the secret behind her musical gift, one so terrible that its discovery could mean her very life.

When I first read this book I was dying for the sequel to be released. Admittedly, the sequel is out, and I happen to own a copy, and have not yet read it. But, hey, in my defense, the sequel took like three years to come out! The point is, that despite its size, this book goes by very quickly, leaving wanting more. The plot is intriguing and the characters all memorable and likable. I highly recommend.

 

How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kristen Miller

15715844.jpg

A meth dealer. A prostitute. A serial killer.

Anywhere else, they’d be vermin. At the Mandel Academy, they’re called prodigies. The most exclusive school in New York City has been training young criminals for over a century. Only the most ruthless students are allowed to graduate. The rest disappear.

Flick, a teenage pickpocket, has risen to the top of his class. But then Mandel recruits a fierce new competitor who also happens to be Flick’s old flame. They’ve been told only one of them will make it out of the Mandel Academy. Will they find a way to save each other—or will the school destroy them both?

This book is intense, violent, and amazing! it’s about a school for criminals where only the best at being bad survive. It’s been a while since I read this but I remember absolutely loving every second of this. If you don’t mind some pretty graphic, rated R violence, I would recommend. If not, you might want to stay clear.


Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE

8 thoughts on “T5W – January 25, 2017

  1. Oh, you really should read Shadow Scale! It’s wonderful! (I totally understand why you haven’t yet though.) I wish it was a trilogy, but sadly it’s over now. . .
    Love the Assassin’s Curse (AMAZING cover!), but Scarlet not so much. My favorite underrated books are totally Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith and Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder. Have you read either?
    Thanks for sharing — wonderful post!
    ~Gwen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’ve read Posion Study, but that was a couple of years ago so I don’t remember much. I liked it but I expected more out of it if I’m honest. Crown Duel is on my TBR though so maybe I should bump it up a bit. And I’m glad you love the Assassin’s Curse, not many people have read it! As for Shadow Scale, I’ll get to it as soon as I’m able. I have soooo many books to read, so little time to read them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

