Furiously Happy

★★★★☆


23848559“I AM GOING TO BE FURIOUSLY HAPPY, OUT OF SHEER SPITE.”

This book made me laugh, a thing that I love. But more than that, this book made me think, which I love even more.

This, as the subtitle implies, is a funny book about horrible things. It is about depression and anxiety and the struggles of living with those and many other mental and physical problems. This is a book about how to deal with life when you are your own worst enemy, and how to get through it all with a smile on your face and positive outlook on life.

Now, I must admit that I do not read many memoirs. I do not travel much to the nonfiction parts of bookstores or libraries. I am someone who has too much to deal with in real life already without being overwhelmed by the tragic real lives of others. The only reason  I even picked up this book was because for our 2017 Reading Challenge it said to read at least one nonfiction. That, mixed with all the praise I heard being sung towards this book, and Jenny Lawson’s work in general. Somehow, despite the skepticism, I managed to start reading this, and you know what, I loved it.

This is self-deprecating humor at its finest. More than that, it is also uplifting and fresh. It makes you look at all the small tragedies in life and gives you a chance to laugh at them and make them work for you.

The book was great, my only problem being that she does on occasion ramble, or go off topic, or concentrates a bit too much on her collection of taxidermy animals, but she does eventually get back on track, or rather, that was always her track, and it was just so much more different from what I expected.

Was that a run on sentence back there? It might have been.

“The amount of money I would pay for people to stop fucking up grammar is only slightly lower than the amount I’d give to ensure I never have grammatical errors in the statements I make calling others out on their grammatical errors.”

Oh well, moving on.

The book was good and anyone who may suffer from mental illness or any illness, or is perfectly healthy, should probably take a look at it. While you are laughing your butt off at the randomness of this woman’s life, you will take away many important life lessons.

This is one of my favorite lessons. This supports my life motto that if you are going to fail, that you must do so in an epic fashion, with so much energy and style, that world will have to applaud it.

“Don’t make the same mistakes that everyone else makes. Make wonderful mistakes. Make the kind of mistakes that make people so shocked that they have no other choice but to be a little impressed.”

This next one short and simple.

“Pretend you’re good at it.”

So many times in my life have I had to put on a smile, stand tall, and pretended to know what I was doing, despite the panic that boiled inside. I, for example, loved theatre, but it was not until I forced myself on stage in high school that I realized how amazing it was. It was not until I acted like I could act that I came to be truly good at it, and enjoy the experience. Sometimes you just have to fake it till you make it. I am glad I am not the only one.

Also, one final note on the whole thing. Can I just mention how amazing her husband, Victor is. Never has a more loving and patient man been been born. He is the MVP of this book.

“Last month, as Victor drove me home so I could rest, I told him that sometimes I felt like his life would be easier without me. He paused a moment in thought and then said, “It might be easier. But it wouldn’t be better.”

I honestly don’t know how he does it. I could read an entire book on their relationship alone.

 


Let me know below if you have read this book and what you thought of it. Did you like it? What was your favorite part or quote? Also, let me know if you have read Jenny Lawson’s other memoir, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. How does it compare to this one?

3 thoughts on “Furiously Happy

Leave a Reply

