Books We Want to Read in 2017

It’s 2017. Can you believe that? I feel so old. I feel like there is so much I did not do in 2016. So many adventures I did not have. So many books I did not read.

Anyway, every year we sit around and talk about the books we want to have read by the end of the year. Usually we make a list and close it in a notebook, only to dig it back up again at the end of the year to see how badly we failed. This year, things will be different. This year, we will make a list and we will complete it!

Or so we hope…

But anyway, let’s get to it!


 

Angelica

 

186074.jpgThe Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss 

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen…

There are so many fantasy books that I want to read. Most of the books on this list fall into that genre. I honestly think that the problem is that they are so long. All of them are 500+ pages. They are are a bit intimidating. But, anyway, this is a book of which I have heard nothing but awesomeness about so I hope to be reading it this year *ignores the fact that I’ve said this same thing for two years in a row*


The Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis

11127.jpg

They opened a door and entered a world–Narnia–the land beyond the wardrobe, the secret country known only to Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy. Lucy is the first to stumble through the back of the enormous wardrobe in the professor’s mysterious old country house, discovering the magic world beyond. At first, no one believes her. But soon Edmund, Peter and Susan, too, discover the magic and meet Aslan, the Great Lion, for themselves. And in the blink of an eye, they are changed forever…

The book I have is a bind up of all seven stories. WHat this means is that this book is utterly massive. Like, you could probably kill a man with it if you hit hard enough. Now you see why I have yet to read it.

 

16131107.jpgThe Black Prism – Brent Weeks

Gavin Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. He is high priest and emperor, a man whose power, wit, and charm are all that preserves a tenuous peace. But Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live: Five years to achieve five impossible goals…

Yet another book of which I have only heard greatness. Apparently, this book is the absolute bomb. It also happens to be 629 pages. *sigh*

 

18712886.jpgThe Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen 

Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom’s haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands….

I have heard good things, I have heard bad things. In the end, the reason I don’t read it is simply because I haven’t felt like it. It’s just there, collecting dust on the shelf.

 

489732.jpgThe Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

Enthralled by his own exquisite portrait, Dorian Gray exchanges his soul for eternal youth and beauty. Influenced by his friend Lord Henry Wotton, he is drawn into a corrupt double life, indulging his desires in secret while remaining a gentleman in the eyes of polite society. Only his portrait bears the traces of his decadence…

Yay, a book of normal length! I have been wanting to read this classic for years now.And I do mean, YEARS. Like since I was like six and saw A League of Extraordinary Gentlemen and loved the character of Dorian Gray. So, yeah, it’s been a while. I even own two copies of the book. So why have I not read it?

tumblr_static_that_is_an_excellet_question.gif

 


Rosie

 

15839976Red Rising -Pierce Brown

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations…

I got this book back in the day. And by that I mean, I got this book within a week of its publication a back in in 2014. So, here we are, I still haven’t read it. I haven’t even picked it up from the shelf and opened it. I know, shame on me.

 

127455The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

An orphan’s life is harsh — and often short — in the island city of Camorr, built on the ruins of a mysterious alien race. But born with a quick wit and a gift for thieving, Locke Lamora has dodged both death and slavery, only to fall into the hands of an eyeless priest known as Chains — a man who is neither blind nor a priest…

This book I have had some mixed feelings about. Angelica and I have been dying over reading this book for years. Last year Angelica beat me to it and finally read it. Sadly, she wasn’t really feeling it. Maybe I will give it a try, maybe I’ll wimp out and not read it at all. Who knows what the heck I’ll do.

 

23395680-1Illuminae – Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit…

This book is everywhere, and apparently, it is everything. Angelica has been showing this book in my direction for a while now, and everyone seems to be raving about it. Why I have not read it? I have no idea. I’m probably just lazy. I’ll have to get on that this year.

 

33.jpgThe Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien

Through the urgings of the enigmatic wizard Gandalf, young hobbit Frodo Baggins embarks on an urgent, incredibly treacherous journey to destroy the One Ring. This ring — created and then lost by the Dark Lord, Sauron, centuries earlier — is a weapon of evil, one that Sauron desperately wants returned to him…

This is the book that started it all. The greatest fantasy ever written (or so they say). And yet, I haven’t read it. Very year I say I’ll do it. Every year I kinda just shrug it off. Will I read it this year? Hopefully. Will I be very upset if I don’t? Not really.

 

9969571.jpgReady Player One – Ernest Cline

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the  OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them…

How long has this book been on my TBR? Years, and years. Apparently, this book is great. Apparently, it’s also being turned into a movie directed by Steven Spielberg. I’ve been lying to myself for awhile not, saying that I am going to read it. Now, I’m really going to do it. Hopefully, before the movie comes out.


 

These, obviously, are only a few of the books that we plan to read this year. These are just the books that we have planned and marked down as definites. Or, at least, as definitely maybe.

What are some of the books you are for sure planning to read in 2017?

Let us know!

 

4 thoughts on “Books We Want to Read in 2017

    • Rosie (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

      Thanks! Angelica has been trying to get me to read Illuminae for a while now. And everyone recommends Ready Player One. I’ll have to bump them up in my TBR.

      Like

Leave a Reply

