Unpopular Opinions

Anyone that knows me knows that I have a lot of opinions. And I do mean a lot. Most of them being somewhat unpopular. Here we go with it. Don’t no one be offended.

 

A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

For this I am choosing two because that is how I roll.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I hated this book. Hated it with a passion. It took me over a moth to read this novel as I forced myself to power through it. In the end, I gave it a sad single star. Admittedly, I did read book two, Glass Sword, and gave it a 3/5 stars so there is hope.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I did not like this book in the slightest. The characters were the absolute most pretentious ‘teenagers’ I have ever read. And there are a lot of pretentious teenagers in YA.

 

A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

This book is actually not that popular, although I think it should be. Also, there seems to be no middle ground for the people who read this book. They either love it or hate it. I am one of the people who loves it. I love the characters, the plot, the action, the romance. I love it all, and yet am completely aware of the fact that a lot of people have problems with it, and for good reason. I just choose to ignore those reasons.

 

A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I don’t really have an answer for this. I do not like to go outside of what is cannon in a book. If that is who they end up with then I am fine with it.

 

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

Paranormal romance. I rarely reach for those anymore. These books had their time in the spotlight thanks to Twilight, but sadly that spotlight had died out. I also don’t reach for YA contemporaries very much. Usually I read contemporaries when I need a break from fantasy or need to get over a book hangover.

 

A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

They are so pretentious, thinking they are somehow better than all other teenagers. They just did not seem real. They were two old, arrogant philosophers stuck in young bodies. Like, honestly, no one talks like that. Especially not two 17 year olds. I just don’t like them in general.

 

 A popular author that you can’t seem to get into

John Green.

Yes, I know. He’s awesome. His Crash Course World History videos got me through AP World History back in high school. That said, I did not like the Fault in Our Stars. I have tried and failed to read Paper Towns, and read the first 100 0r so pages of Looking for Alaska only to put it down to never it pick back up. I Just can’t seem to get into his books. Frankly, I simply don’t like them. Sorry, not sorry.

 

 A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

I am so done with the ‘lost princess/prince’ trope. You would not believe the amount of displaced royalty in YA. It’s crazy. I am also done with the poorly plotted love triangles. Love triangles can be done right; I don’t hate them all the time. Sadly, most people fail at them. On top of it all, I am the most tired of mean love interests. You know how it goes, the girl meets a guy who acts like a total ass for no reason, only to fall in love with him halfway through novel. No. Just no. Don’t fall for the guy that treats you like crap! It is unacceptable.

 

 A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I know, I know. Don’t hate me for it. I was never on the Harry Potter fan train while growing up. I never read the books, I never had an interest in doing so. Also, the movies scared me as a kid, I could not watch Chamber of Secrets at night without having nightmares. Now that I am older I am probably not going to pick it up either. It’s a personal thing, go ahead and love HP all you want. I will just sit here with Percy Jackson and all will be fine.

 

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The Fault in Our Stars  by John Green

I loved this movie. I was not a huge fan of the book, as you can see above, but I did like the movie. Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort did a great job in this film, almost enough to make me forget about their roles in the Divergent movies *cringes at memory*.

I also enjoyed The Maze Runner movie so much more than the book. Dylan O’Brien is just generally awesome.

 

 

I kind of feel bad now. There is so much hate for TFIOS in this this post. That was in no way intentional. No offense if you love that novel. No hard feelings…I hope.

 


This tag was created by TheBookArcher. We were not tagged by anyone, I just thought that it would be fun to do.

I am tagging:

Brookie from BrookieCowles

&

Maya from The Book Dragon 1017

If you don’t want to do it or have already done it, it’s all good.

And anyone else that wants to do it, consider yourself tagged!

 


These are my (Angelica’s) opinion, they do not reflect Rosie’s views in any way, nor do they represent the view of the overall blog. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, and have the right to express them. If you do not agree with them, you can state your reasons why in the comments, as you are entitled to your own thoughts, but keep it civil.

4 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions

Leave a Reply

