T5W – January 4, 2017

2017 Goals

 

These are not necessarily book related goals, just goals in general. Here are a few things that I want to achieve within the year 2017. Admittedly, most are book related anyways.

These are in no particular order. Let it be written, I will get them all done!


1. Do Only the Things I Love

Many times in life we find ourselves doing things we don’t like for the sake of those around us. We go out of our way to please others and end up miserable in the process. I am done with that. It ends today. I want to be able to say that all I do is because it pleases me to do it. I want all my actions and all my words to come from the heart. As this is a book blog, this includes only reading the things I want to read, not the things that I feel like I should read just because they are popular. Aside from that, it includes all other things in my everyday life. We only live once, I want to live happy.

2. Read 70 Books

My Goodreads goal for 2017 is to read 60 books, which is the same amount I wrote down for 2016. I surpassed that amount in 2016 by reading 68 instead of 60. This new year i want to read at least 70, but since I don’t like to pressure myself into reading, I put myself down for 60, just in case.

3. Finish WritingΒ a Book

I love writing. I’ve been doing it since the fourth grade when I wrote my first story. It is my passion and my joy, and nothing would make me happier than finishing an actual novel. Most of my writing is left half done, I start and am quickly overcome by a new idea, leaving me with many half finished stories that I never return to. This here is the year in which I will write my story. It is the one that has been building in my mind for years, slowly growing and developing. Now, it is time to put it all on paper.

4. Review More

Last year I had the terrible habit of reading books and never reviewing them. This happened in a time where I went through a bit of Β a reading slump and couldn’t find the words with which to properly describe the things I read. It also did not help that almost every book I read within that period was just ‘meh’, neither good nor bad, just a big blob of average. It’s hard to review something you feel absolutely nothing about. This year, since I now have an obligation to this blog, I hope to review much more.

5. Get My Life Together

This is not so much of a 2017 goal, but more of a general life goal. Hopefully this is the year it starts. There are times in which I just sit around my house doing absolutely nothing, asking myself what I am doing with my life, not knowing how to respond. I have no plan for what to do after I graduate, I barely know what I am going to do tomorrow, and even less what I will do in the next few years of my life. I am currently 20 years old, and it’s getting to the point where I should know what’s happening. I can’t keep having this quarter life crisis.


 

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads linkΒ HERE

2 thoughts on “T5W – January 4, 2017

    1. Good to know i’m not the only one who doesn’t have their life together. It’s comforting to know that others are as lost as I am. As for the reading challenge, I want to take it slow this year, but I also kinda want to read a lot. We’ll see where I get.

      Like

Leave a Reply

