2016 Book Survey Questions

Hello everyone, as this year is coming to an end, it is time to look back at all of the books that have made this year so memorable.

Best Book of 2016?

This is a hard question. I must say Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. It was just so good! 

Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

The Last Star by Rick Yancey.

The 5th Wave was such a good novel, I don’t know what happened with this book.

Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2016?

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

This book has made its way to my all-time favorites, despite having gone into it expecting to hate it.

Book you read in 2016 that you recommended most to people?

Wuthering Heights. Just read it. Admittedly, there is a chance you will hate it. But you also might love it. It’s 50/50

Best series you discovered in 2016?

Air Awakens by Elise Kova

I did not see that coming. Go read it.

Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Edgar Allan Poe.

I never actually thought I would get into his writing. This year, I did.

Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

The Financier by Theodore Dreiser

I didn’t even finish this mess. Apparently, it’s part of a series that I will never touch, not even with a ten-foot pole.

Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2016?

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh bardugo.

Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman.

Or, Crooked Kingdom.

Or all of them. These were definitely my three favorites.

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Most memorable character in 2016?

A.I.D.A.N. from Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman.

Or Kaz from Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

I just love these two so much!!

Most beautifully written book in 2016?

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. The format in which this book is written is simply glorious!

Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2016?

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Just wow. Go read it.

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

Again, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Why it took me this long to read it? I will never know.

Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2016?

“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.” – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Shortest and Longest book you read in 2016?

Shortest: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Longest: A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about it.

The last Inej chapter in Crooked Kingdom.  I won’t say anything due to spoilers, but boy, did that entire chapter just killed me. I’ve never fangirled so hard in my life.

Favorite relationship from a book you read in 2016 (romantic, friendship, etc)?

Inej Ghafa and Kaz Brekker from Crooked Kingdom. Kanej  forever!!!

Favorite book you read in 2016 from an author you’re read previously?

Crooked Kingdom!! Or Illuminae!

These two have been my answers for everything and that is ok. It is my not so subtle way of telling people to read those books.

Best book you read in 2016 that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from someone else?

Drakfever by Karen Marie Moning.

This was a mistake. Despite everyone loving this series, I found it appalling. Never has such blatant sexism been so praised it seems. The relationship in the book is extremely emotionally abusive, and don’t get me started on book two. I will never understand the attraction to the manipulative, violent, disrespectful, sexist Jericho Barrons.

Genre you read the most in 2016?

YA fantasy.  This seems to be my new favorite genre. There have been so many good releases for this lately. I look forward to more.

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Kaz Brekker from Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

You can’t help but love this sensitive, secretive, murderous boy.

Best 2016 debut you read?

Sorry, I don’t really have one.

Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2016?

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi.

Book that was the most fun to read in 2016?

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. Never has such a cool book been written.

Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2016?

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

This book broke my heart. And I love it for it.

Book you read in 2016 that you think go overlooked this year or when it came out?

Me, and Earl, and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. A lot of people love The Fault in Our Stars. I did not. I loved this book. It’s a much more realistic depiction of cancer and tragedy and just people in general, and yet, it has a 3.58 rating.

Most overrated book in 2016?

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.

I just don’t get it. I, it seems, am one of the few people on earth who is not dying over Rhysand.

Favorite book you re-read in 2016?

Alas, I have not re-read anything this year. I would have loved to but, ain’t nobody got time for that. It’s not like my TBR is getting any smaller.

What is the next book on your TBR pile?

Gemina by by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman.

 

This bookish survey, and all its questions, were created by the wonderful Brookie Cowles on her blog. If you are interested in checking her original post or doing the survey for yourself, check it  HERE.

2 thoughts on “2016 Book Survey Questions

    • You definitely should! My cousin bought Six of Crows when he came to visit from The Dominican Republic last year and he loved it. I sent him Crooked Kingdom this year for Christmas and although he’s not yet done, he already likes it more than the first. I hope you do a review when you’re done. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

