Worst Reads of 2016

We are always making lists of the things we love. I mean, that is fine and all, but sometimes I just want to talk about the things I hate. You, know, just cause. So, here are the world books that I have had the misfortune of reading in 2016. Basically, the books that will forever haunt my memories when I look back on the year.

These books are not necessarily books that were released in the year of 2016, but rather, books that I read within 2016.

Before we go into this, I must say this. Just because I do not like these books, it does not mean that your like of them is any less valid. You can love these books all you wish and I will be happy for you. In fact, you can even tell me in the comments below that you love them, and why, and I will gladly hear you out. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. So, if you are going to be offended by my likes and dislikes, maybe you shouldn’t keep reading. If you are a sensible person who acknowledges the fact that others have a right to disagree with you, proceed.

Without further ado, here we go

 

Uprooted by Naomi Novak

22544764

This book has a beautiful cover and an interesting premise. Not to mention the fact that it was nominated for the very prestigious Hugo Award (the Golden Globes of Sci-fi/fantasy writing) and even won the Nebula Award (the Oscars of Sci-fi/fantasy writing), for best novel of 2015. To add even more insult to injury, everyone who ever read this book was raving about it and the sheer awesomeness of it. So of course, me being trying to be part of the bandwagon, went out of my way to get it and read it. And you know what, fewer times in life have I been so utterly disappointed.

The plot was slow, the characters forgettable, the entire story was muddled, to the point that I never fully understood what was happening or how it happened. It starts out being the story of an annoyingly clumsy girl who is oh, so average, and plain and all that nonsense. It turns out that all she needed was for a rude, arrogant wizard to bring her ‘Chosen One’ qualities into the light.  I simply do not get the appeal.

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses

16096824

Again, I don’t get it. This has been one of the most popular series this year with the release of its sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury. Admittedly, I didn’t get the appeal to the sequel either, but at least it was better than the first.

Now, before someone gets offended and starts throwing their hate onto me for having disrespected the mighty Sarah J. Maas, hear me out. First, as I have mentioned, this is my opinion. If you love this book, congratulations, I am glad you liked it. Second, none of these characters are, in my opinion, even remotely likable. And I will briefly explain why with the use of minimal spoilers.

First the whole point to Beauty and the Beast, is that the beast is ugly. Sure, Tamlin’s face is mostly covered by a mask, but he is a handsome, powerful fearie king. Not really the same thing. He is also a condescending, manipulative jerk, and that’s not even in book two, that’s where his real colors come out. He also, obviously, has no loyalty to his people, as well as very skewed sense of priorities which I can’t go into without spoiling. Then there is Fyre, a perfect, beautiful, martyr of a girl who can do no wrong. There is a lot of other things that of I say I will spoil something so that is it for now. Obviously, I didn’t like this,

 

Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

112750

This is yet another book for which people have been singing praises for years. Finally, I caved and read it. Sometimes you just need a paranormal romance to put you back on track in terms of reading. This was not it, if anything, it almost started a reading slump. The story follows Mac, a perfect, Barbie like girl on a mission to Ireland to find out what happened to her sister who has been murdered. There she finds out that she is part of an ancient people called sidhe-seers who can see the fey. There she also meets Jericho Barrons, a.k.a the most misogynistic, aggressive, condescending, egotistical, manipulative, intimidating, disrespectful, stalker of a man, that I have ever had the displeasure of reading about. And oh yeah, he’s the love interest. Why, I don’t know, perhaps because the author thinks that men who say things like:

“I am unaccustomed to asking for what I want. Nor am I accustomed to bartering with a woman,” he said finally.

Are the type of men that turn women on. I don’t know about other women, but certainly not me.

Then there is Mac, the perfect southern belle who goes out of her way to tell us that she is more than just a Barbie doll, only to prove to us just how much of ‘Barbie’ she is.

She is immature, and quite frankly, kind of dumb.

“I might not be the brightest bulb in the box, but I wasn’t the dimmest, either.”

Or so she claims. I disagree. She clearly doesn’t have good judgment if she thinks that Jericho Barrons is a suitable partner.

 

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning

344262

I may, or may not, have to go see a doctor about the masochistic qualities I have been displaying. Example A, me having read the sequel to a book that I absolutely hated. Why did I do this? I don’t know. Perhaps I was running on the sad hope that I was wrong and that this book with 115,650 ratings, averaging 4.15 out of 5 on Goodreads, was actually amazing. It did not happen.

Again, we are thrown back into this world and are met with the creepiest humans/fey imaginable. Mac is still infuriating. Barrons is still a jerk who should probably do some time in jail for assault. And now we have V’lane, a fearie prince who is equally manipulative and borderline sexually abusive, who is also considered by the main character to be very attractive as well a possible love interest.

This next part might be a bit of a spoiler, but that is only if you can stomach the mess that was book one. Here Jericho Barrons knocks Mac out and gives her a tattoo, even though when she was awake she said no to it. Sure, it came in useful, but that is not the point. She is a grown adult, capable of making her own life choices, who are you to decide what goes on her body. And this is just one of few things that happen in this novel. Needless to say, I will not continue with this offensive, sexist mess.

 

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

28678119

Yet another book which has been praised by just about everyone I know. And again. I don’t get the appeal.

This is about a girl named Ella whose mother has recently died and to make money goes and gets a job as a stripper. Life is sad and tragic until millionaire guy, Callum Royal, comes in one day and tells her that she is the illegitimate daughter of his recently deceased, extremely rich best friend, and is set to receive most of his fortune. Now, this ungrateful girl will fight this man at every step of the way, trying on occasion, to run away and spite him. Why? Cause, you know, she’s a rebel. Who really wants to live in a mansion and be rich and all that when you can be a striper?

Admittedly, her life with the Royals is not that easy at first. The Royal boys are jerks of the worst class. They are manipulative, disrespectful, terribly rude people, who are going out of their way to kick Ella out. Why? Because why help a poor, orphaned, homeless girl who has done nothing wrong to anyone when she clearly has the option to be an underage stripper? That is why.

Their ways of getting rid of Ella range from psychological abuse, to borderline assault. As they humiliate and prank her until her morale diminishes. Then, everything changes when Ella is almost raped and the boys decide, hey, maybe we shouldn’t be total jerks to this girl.

Um…no.

First, rape should not be used as a plot device for the convenience of the author having a turning point. Especially not for characters such as those. Maybe they should not have been jerks just because it was wrong to be it. But that is just my opinion.

Second, these guys that have been abusing her that whole time don’t get a free pass because they saved her. Everything’s not fine and dandy where all their past actions are erased.

Third, Reed Royal has no right to suddenly fall in love with Ella after all he’s done. Ella is stupid for falling in love with Reed, despite the way he treated her.

Again, why do people think that these are the types of men we like?

Lastly, I just didn’t like this book. In fact, I didn’t like any book in the trilogy, and yes, I read them all (see masochistic comment above).

 

Once again, all the things mentions here are my (Angelica’s) personal opinions. They do not reflect my co-blogger, Rosie’s, views. We are all entitled to our own opinions and these are mine. Feel free to cast you own in the comments. Do you agree or disagree with my choices? Which were your least favorite books on 2016?

12 thoughts on “Worst Reads of 2016

  1. This is such an awesome idea and so refreshing! I’ve had Uprooted on my tbr for ages and I’ve only heard good things about it. You’re the first person who hasn’t liked it! I’m intrigued to read the book now. And omg, I totally agree about Paper Princess. Mate, were the authors high when they wrote that book? In what world is anything that happens appropriate? Also, there was zero chemistry between whats-her-face and Reed. Besides, 5 guys is just pandering.
    This is a great post, good job!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Uprooted has been liked by almost everyone I know, I on the other hand, found it to be completely forgettable. That said, I hope you enjoy it. As for Paper Princess, I went in expecting to like it. Everyone was talking about it and giving it 4 and 5 stars. I honestly don’t get why that was. I did not like that at all, as you can probably tell.

      What was your least favorite of 2016?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m going to try my hardest to read Uprooted this year. Oh man, I thought I would like Paper Princess too. So disappointing.
        Firstlife by Gena Showalter was the absolute worst book. It was a mess and all of the character’s were superficial versions of YA stereotypes. Had to force myself to finish it, and I only did because my sister made fun of me for buying it and said I wouldn’t read it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve heard a lot of negative things about Firstlife. Sometimes when books like that come out I feel like I should read them, just because everyone else is doing it too. Then I realize that maybe I’m not that much of a masochist after all. To be honest, I am losing interest in many of the YA sci-fi/dystopians that have come out lately. They are all the same now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m the same. I get FOMO and feel like I should read it, even if I’m not interested. Yeah, you’re right, that’s the issue with YA fantasy: after a while, so many of the books feel the same. Not many stand out anymore. 😦 I’m hoping this year proves better than last in regards to YA

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

