Best Characters of 2016

It is sad but true, not all characters are equal. Some are good, some are bad. Some we meet in passing, others stay with us forever. Through this year of reading I have encountered a few characters that I will never forget, whose stories I could get lost in forever. The best characters I’ve read of in 2016.

Kaz Brekker (Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo)

tumblr_o7lj24x1xt1r7vmnbo1_500CnWAiN7VMAAkx5M.png

Never had I fallen so completely in love with such a cruel, violent, devious character. He is bad to the bone and he knows it.Better yet, he embraces it. He will do whatever it takes to get what is his and save his friends. More importantly, his story is character development at its absolute finest. Any story which includes Kaz in the future I will most definitely read.

Inej Ghafa  (Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo)

tumblr_o6oa2ja4s51r7vmnbo1_500.pngtumblr_oabj4yu3fy1rs0b4vo2_1280

You cannot talk about Kaz without mentioning his equally dangerous counterpart. The fact that she is a good person does in no way prevent her for being a total badass. She is dangerous, she is deadly, she is made of pure awesome. Her and Kaz’s relationship is the absolute best, most complicated, most wonderfully frustrating thing ever. No words can properly describe all that is Inej Ghafa.

A.I.D.A.N (Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman)

ee1bd70b84d85f1cf962b35691e0fa08

I love morally ambiguous characters, and few were as ambiguous this year as A.I.D.A.N.  He’s the kind of guy /computer, who will risk destruction to save his passengers, and play music while he lets them get murdered the go on to say “Am I not merciful?” Honestly, A.I.D.A.N. completely made this book.

Heathcliff (Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte)

He’s bad, he’s vengeful, he is the most passionate person I’ve ever read. I would never wish a Heathcliff onto anyone, but come on, the man has some moments.

“Catherine Earnshaw, may you not rest as long as I am living. You said I killed you–haunt me then. The murdered do haunt their murderers. I believe–I know that ghosts have wandered the earth. Be with me always–take any form–drive me mad. Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! It is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!”

-Heathcliff

I just love his random fits of passion.

Death (The Book Thief by Markus Zusak)

Never did I think that I would like the character of Death as much as I did in this novel. Serving as the narrator, death provides an omniscient perspective over all of Germany as the war rages and bring people closer to him. With spellbinding descriptions and expressions, Death is by far one of the most memorable characters in this already memorable book.

 

Who were your favorite characters of 2016?

 

7 thoughts on “Best Characters of 2016

  1. Rosie (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    Kaz and Inej all the way! While I love them on their own, the two make a beautiful, cunning, dangerous pair. Imagine their kids (if they ever get around to that). They would be awesome! Great list though. I will use it as even more incentive to read Illuminae.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh, your favorite characters are totally mine as well. Kaz was on my favorite list for my end of the year survey, and AIDAN… my favorite character in that book. I loved the picture you chose for him. Heathcliff has been a favorite of mine for years. I had my book club read Wuthering Heights because of him and no one else liked the book😒. And of course Death. That book is so good because Death is the narrator.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kaz is too awesome for words. I couldn’t not add him to the list. And for some reason, despite my fangirlish raves about Heathcliff and Wuthering Heights, there are so many people that read it and hate it. But hey, any book that can spike such contrasting emotions in its readers must be doing something right. And had Death not been the narrator for the Book Thief, I don’t think it would have been the same

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

