Best Covers of 2016

Every day this week I will be going through lists of my favorite, and least favorite, things this year. To start it off I am going through my favorite book covers of 2016. These are the covers that caught my eye and filled my mind with wonder, regardless of what lay inside. As we are The Book Cover Girls, we are judging this based solely on covers, whether or not we liked the book. These covers are not necessarily for books that were released in 2016, but rather, books that I read in 2016.

These books are in no particular order.

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

28110143

Look at this cover. Look at this glorious, wonderful, colorful cover. Where adult book covers are filled with fancy lettering, and YA covers are filled with pretty girls in dresses and other irrelevant things, children’s book covers always seem to be connected to the plot within. This cover just screams whimsy and adventure, and shows many little snippets of Alice’s journey through the magical land of Furthermore.

 

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

27840861

This cover is dark, it is dangerous, and it command attention, very much like the characters inside, especially Kaz Brekker. In the last book that crow was flying by, in this one, it is rising, willing to take down whoever it needs to end up on top. To top it all off, the book has wonderful red stained pages that tie it all together. I just love it so much!

 

The Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

23174274

If there is one thing that this series has going for it, is its beautiful covers. They are so simple, and yet, so dazzling. Just a crown and some blood and it speaks so much. While this may in no way be my favorite series, it does some have some pretty amazing covers. Congrats to the design team!

 

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

28588345

The cover for book one, The Young Elites, was acceptable. Not the best, not the worst. The cover for the sequel, The Rose Society, was atrocious. A wolf in the clouds over some waves and a random shield in the middle? Why? Just, why? Then, The Midnight Star came out and I loved this cover, finally this series had gotten better. It is by far the best book in the series, inside and out.

 

The Entire Air Awakens Series by Elise Kova

 

I love these covers. I don’t know why, I just do. I can look at them all day. There are five books in total but since I have not yet read books 4 and 5, I will not show their covers, although the cover for book 5, Crystal Crowned, is my favorite. Maybe I’ll show them next year.

 

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

23395680

Sure, this book looks nice on the outside, but it’s how it looks without the cover that is ultimately impressive. Never had I seen a book like it. Major kudos to the people who designed this book. It is amazing

 

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635

One of the few times in which a girl floating around in a puffy dress is actually relevant to the plot. I love everything about the cover, the typography, the image of space in the background, the dress. Great job guys.

 

 

What are some of your favorite covers of the year? Which ones took your breath away and made you drop everything to go read it? Also, look for my other lists of favorites, including best characters, best books, and least favorite books.

10 thoughts on “Best Covers of 2016

      1. I haven’t. *^* I couldn’t find it in any local stores in English and it has not been translated to Turkish either, so i’ll be waiting for a while until one of the stores around me brings it :<

        Like

  1. Furthermore has, by far, the best cover I’ve seen this year. It wasn’t my favorite book, but it certainly is pretty to look at. All your other choices are good too. Great selection!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

