T5W – December 21, 2016

Fictional Items You’d Give as Gifts

 

In fiction, we find some of the most interesting items to have ever been imagined. Here we find things such as magic wands and invisible planes and whatnot. Looking at these things we often become envious of the characters who own them, wishing to own them ourselves. Other times we see an item and think of the people in our world whom we would gift them to. These are the fictional items I would give as gifts (and desperately wish I could keep to myself).

Usually, I put my Top 5 in the order I want them. These though are in no particular order.

 

Riptide (Percy Jackson Series)

This magical item is from Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and Hero of Olympus series. It is Percy Jackson’s sword which also conveniently turns into a pen for convenient storage. These are two of my favorite things, pens, and deadly ancient weapons.

This pen/sword would make the perfect gift for any writer/adventurer. It is fun and easy to use, and serves as great protection from the gods and monsters that may or may not be trying to kill you.

Just think of all the possible adventures!

 

Needle (A Song of Ice and Fire)

This is yet another fictional weapon (seeing a trend here). This tiny little sword is Arya Stark’s iconic weapon, given to her by Jon Snow on the day of their departure. Thin, and, as the name implies, needle-like, this practically a letter opener, but a really cool and deadly one who has been used to kill people. How fun. (I think I may have a problem).

As the item was originally intended as a gift there is already a sentimental factor to it. I would love to give this to my sister. She is too young to watch Game of Thrones but always likes to keep up with plot lines. Usually I end up telling her a PG summary of each episode. This would be the perfect gift.

 

Kell’s Jacket (Shades of Magic)

This magical jacket first introduced in V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic, is one of the coolest pieces of clothing out there. By turning it inside out one ends up with a different jacket each time. Not only does this technically mean that there is infinite pocket space, but it also means that you have the single most versatile coat ever. You will never need to buy another jacket. To give this would be to give a coat times a million, and who would not want that?

 

Kaz’s Cane (Six of Crows)

Have a friend that due to a degenerative bone condition has had to walk with a cane since she turned 18. The way I see it, if you are going to have a cane, you might as well have the most badass cane you can find. Admittedly, Kaz’s cane is not necessarily awesome in and of itself, but rather made awesome by the wielder, and the fact that Kaz has kicked some serious booty with nothing but his cane. Still, I think my friend is pretty awesome too, so this would probably work.

 

The Magic Mirror (Beauty and the Beast)

Ok, so this is from a movie (IDK if the original version has a magic mirror), but it’s fictional so I am going with it. I would love to have two so I can give one to my friend. Basically, it is like a phone that never needs to charge. Also, you can see anyone at all in any part of the world, at any given time! For, you know, research purposes and whatnot. *tries not to sound like a stalker*

Anyway, this would be an extremely cool things to both give and receive.

 

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey and currently being moderated by Sam @thoughtsontomes. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE
9 thoughts on “T5W – December 21, 2016

  1. Rosie (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    As your co-blogger, I expect one of those should be for me. Preferably Riptide, please! Pens and swords are two of my favorite things too!

    Like

      • Is it? I wish I could just wear a long cloak and a crow cane wherever I go!
        Yes exactly! They’re hard to obtain as mortals! Maybe we can go to the Empire State Building with presents so they let us into Olympus and then we can ask for a pen sword or steal one!
        What do you say? Nice plan right? ;P

        Liked by 1 person

      • Plus people would judge us so much!
        Yeaaah I mean all that hard work and killing monsters! Plus when you get the celestial bronze pen sword, all the gods will start asking you for favours!
        Ugh I actually LOATHE Zeus so so much! 3/4 of the problems that happen are because Zeus just couldn’t control his desires! He’s my least favourite god. Although flying would be a cool power to have.

        Like

Leave a Reply

