T5W – December 14, 2016

Series That Got Worse With Each Book/Season

Many are the times that we start a series, be it books or tv, and are hopeful to start a long lasting relationship with it. Then, the series betrays you, they lure you in with pretty words in book on, and then they take a 180 degree turn and show you their ugly selves. These are those books. 

5 – Teen Wolf

I know, I know, this is a TV show, but let us not lie to ourselves, this show went downhill. Admittedly, I hear that this current sixth season is pretty amazing. I would not know because I quit at the start of season five.

4 – The 5th Wave Trilogy – Rick Yancey

When I first read The 5th Wave, my mind was blown away. There were so many twists and turns, so many mysteries and lies. It was amazing, a five-star book. Then, The Infinite Sea came out and never had I been so greatly disappointed in my life. It did not, in any way, meet my expectations. First, the book is significantly shorter than the first, second, the content just could not seem to measure up. Then came book three, The Last Star, and I hated it. I am not even sure how it ended because it seemed to me that Yancey had come up with a great initial idea and then couldn’t figure out how to end it.

3 –  The Divergent Trilogy – Veronica Roth

This series started out well. Book one, although not very original, was solid; I gave it 4/5 stars. Book two, Insurgent, was kind of slow and worse of all, boring. Book three, Allegiant, was just bad, and not just because of the ending, but because it just honestly sucked.

2 – Delirium Trilogy – Lauren Oliver

Not much to say really. Book one, although entirely unoriginal and a little insta-lovey, was entertaining. It had potential. And then that potential was flushed down the toilet never to be seen again. And yes, I know that a lot of people love this series. In fact, Rosie, my co-blogger, loves this series. I on the other hand, cannot stand it.

1 –  Matched Trilogy – Allie Condie

I wish I could go into detail for this, but I don’t even remember most of the last book. I powered through this series way back when I had a horrible sense of commitment with my reading. Had I started this series later in my reading career then I would have quit halfway through book two. Book one, Matched, was in no way original, but it was entertaining. Book two, Crossed, was entirely unnecessary. Book three, Reached, was convoluted, boring, and way too long. I do not recommend.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE

 

These are my (Angelica's) opinion, they do not reflect Rosie’s views in any way, nor do they represent the view of the overall blog. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, and have the right to express them. If you do not agree with them, you can state your reasons why in the comments, as you are entitled to your own thoughts, but keep it civil.
7 thoughts on “T5W – December 14, 2016

      1. Yay! I can’t wait to see yours. I’ll have to look at the comments. I’m working on my t5w right now and then I’ll look at comments

        I enjoy the survey because it makes me look at what I read this year and what I really enjoyed.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

