Cover Changes Done Right

If anyone is like me, you like having matching covers. I am the type of person who will go out of my way to have matching cover editions and formats (hardcover, paperback, etc.). Whenever a book cover changes its cover design I die a little on the inside as the knowledge that I will not have a matching set settles over me. Other times, such as these, I rejoice because let’s be honest, there are some great books with some seriously hideous covers out there. These are cover changes done right. 

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

(Original on the left, updated version on the right)

I would just like to know why this original cover was ever a thing. Covers like that give YA a bad reputation. A girl standing in a white dress in a silver abyss while it rains glitter. Why? What does that have to do with the plot? It is one of the most generic book covers I have ever seen, and I do not think Juliet ever wore a white dress through the entire book.

Admittedly, the new version has nothing to do with the plot either, but hey, it looks cool so there is that.

Full series:


Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1) by Veronica Rossi

(Original on the left, updated version on the right)

First, what is that guy doing to that poor girl in that original picture? What is the story behind this picture? Second, what does it have to do with the plot. This takes place in a world where giant electrical storms have devastated the world, leaving only a few survivors living within protective domes, and even fewer survivors living on the outside. I can see that with new version, however dramatic that girl may be walking away, but I simply do not get that from the old one. I don’t even know what is happening with the old one, and frankly, do not want to. To be honest, I dislike both these covers, the new one is just the lesser of two evils.

Full series:


Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) Sarah J. Maas

(Original on the left, updated version on the right)

Pretend I tell you of a book about one of the world’s greatest assassins who to save herself must join a win or die completion to be the king’s champion. A story full of great dialogue, awesome fight scenes, and kick ass characters. Then, imagine I asked you to choose which of these two books I was talking about, which would you point to? Would it be the one with the picture of a girl (who kind of resembles the author) trying to look tough while not messing up her salon ready hair and recently done make up? Or would it be the one of the girl menacingly walking towards you with deadly twin blades in her hands? Why they thought that the original was a good representation of the novel, I will never know. Still, thank goodness, they changed it. Could you imagine if the rest of the series was just this girl posing like a model on the covers? *shudders at thought*

Full Series:


Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) By Stephanie Perkins

(Original on the left, updated version on the right)

The original is one of the cheesiest book covers in the history of ever. This is the type of cover that most YA contemporaries would get back in the day. I may not have liked that original cover, but I also did not hate it. There are so many terrible covers out there that the only reason that I added this one is because the book is actually sitting like two feet from me as I write this. What I do like about the new cover is that not only is it extremely cute, but it also has that French aspect without being cheesy. Also, now I have a matching set that I can put on display. Good job to the cover design people!

Full series:

 


The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1) By Julie Kagawa

(Original on the left, updated version on the right)

Ok, so I have not read this book yet, and I am sorry for that. Still, I do not think that the reading of the book is necessary for pointing out how bad this cover is. Admittedly, yes, the original cover is relevant to the book which is about vampires and whatnot. But, let us all also admit that the new version is much, much better. This opinion is a bit controversial since I know people who really like the original. That said, the main character in the book, the one supposedly depicted on the cover, is described to be Asian, and yet, they put a white girl on the cover, because…reasons, I guess. So, I think I will stay with the new versions.

Full series:

 


 

These are not the only book cover changes done right. If there are any that I have missed or that you  guys like, then write it up in the comments. Let me know which have been your favorite cover changes? Also, if you disagree and think that some of these originals are better than the new ones, let me know that too!

4 thoughts on “Cover Changes Done Right

Leave a Reply

