T5W – December 7, 2016

Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

Many are the times when I get hyped about a book, run out and buy it, put it at the very top of my TBR, then leave it discarded on my shelf to be read months, if not years, later. These are the books that I am finally making up my mind about and reading in 2017.

5 – The Elite by Kiera Cass

I read The Selection back in 2013, and despite hating the characters and finding the entire plot to be kind of stupid, I loved it. It was an entertaining book that had me completely hooked. Ever since 2013 I have been telling myself that I would read this book along with the rest of that series. Clearly, that did not happen. And so, here we are, me telling myself that I will read this in 2017. Let’s see how that goes.

4 – A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

I have been “reading” this series for the past three years now. Book one, A Game of Thrones, took me ten days to read. Book two, A Clash of Kings, took me a month. This last book seems to be taking me longer. I have read the first 100 pages or so, but whenever I try to read this I get distracted by newer, shinier books.  I want to finish this series before season 7 of the show comes out, so hopefully I can read this early 2017. Hopefully.

 3 –  The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

I have been wanting to read The Chronicles of Narnia since the movie came out back in 2006, ten years ago. I even went out to the store and bought a bind up of all seven books. That was back in 2014, so, basically that book has been sitting there on the shelf for two years while I swerve around it to get other books. Not anymore! 2017 is the year and I am going to sit and marathon this series and I am going to love it! It has been declared!

2 – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Never has an ill word about this book been spoken. Everyone who reads it absolutely loves it. The other day, in fact, I ran into a girl on the way to class who was rereading the novel for the fifth time because it was her all-time favorite book. She then went on to practically beg me to read it, saying that there was no way I would not love it as well. It is one of those books that has been awkwardly waiting in my TBR pile for some time now. Sometimes I feel like it’s watching me from the shelf, ordering me to finally pick it up and read it. This year maybe I will.

 1 – Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

The reason this book ranks as number one is not so much because I really want to read it, but rather because this book is the oldest book in my TBR. I bought this book in a fifth-grade book sale, back when I was ten years old. I remember buying it during Christmas time and wrapping it up, having given it as a gift to myself. For ten years that book has sat on my shelf, unopened, untouched. For ten years, I have been lying to myself when I say that I will read it. This ends now! In 2017 I solemnly swear that I will read Princess Academy, even if it kills me (let’s hope it doesn’t kill me because knowing me I probably won’t read it till 2020 or something).

 

These are but some of the books that have been resting on my TBR for years now, Hopefully I get to finish these five and finally start making a dent on that TBR pile.

What books have you wanted to read since forever?

 

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE
3 thoughts on “T5W – December 7, 2016

      • In my opinion, the romance was not the strong point in the book. But being a romance lover, I’ve read the book 3 or 4 times. So it’s can’t be that bad I suppose. But it did let me down just a bit.

        Obviously not enough to keep me from re-reading, haha 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

