T5W – November 23, 2016

Books You Want to Re-Read

Hello there! This here marks the very first Top 5 Wednesday that I attempt to do. I have been watching these as videos going around and I have always loved the idea of them, and had always wanted to try it. This week the prompt is the top 5 books you want to re-read. Here we go!

5 –  Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

This book was the single most unique book I have ever read. No, I do not necessarily mean in terms of plot, although the plot was amazing too, I mean in terms of format. This book took be completely by surprised and took me on an adventure where I felt as if I were one of the characters being thrown around space. This book also showed me one of the most sympathetic villains that I have read in a while, in the form of a rogue A.I. system named A.I.D.A.N. I loved this book and when I read Gemina (It has been staring at me from my shelf for a while now) I will try to reread this one too.

4 – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

So many emotions went through me while I read this book. I cried so much while reading that I went through half a box of tissues. This is a book that I had seen go around for years and years. It was so many people’s favorites, and yet, I never dared to pick it up. To be honest, this book intimidated me. I was afraid I would not like it, afraid that I would not be able to get through it. I am personally not a huge fan of historical fiction and therefore this book never interested me. When I finally did read it, I sat in silence wondering why I did not read it sooner. One day, when I am feeling in the mood for tears, I will read it again.

3 –  Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

When I finished this book last year I sat in my room for a good ten minutes doing nothing but staring at the ceiling and wondering how to move on with my life. It was that good. I finished it and I wanted to immediately read it again. It has everything one could want. Action, romance, adventure, and all the other things that make a book epic. One day, when I have time to casually sit around and reread something, I will pick this back up.

2 – Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

This book killed me. I know that there are many who have love-hate relationships with this classic, but I loved it. So much passion, so much love and hate and emotion! I had to read this book for a class so it meant stopping at every important quote and taking down notes and analyzing the meanings of things. The very moment I finished I wanted nothing more than to pick it up and read it again. Better yet, I wanted to have completely forgotten everything I just read, just so I can go into it with fresh eyes and simply enjoy the work of Emily Bronte.

1 – 1984 by George Orwell

George Orwell has created a dark dystopian future like few ever have. This book is scary, scarier than most of the books that attempt to frighten. It is even more scary when we think of how close these things might come into being. Back in 1949 when this book was published, the world was different. The idea of having cameras everywhere was unreal. People did not think that their every move could be watched, even in the comfort of their own homes. There are projects coming up where they are actually trying to insert computer chips into people! Is that not scary? This lack or privacy, this government control, this complete manipulation of the truth by the media? This book did something that few books have done. It made me stop and think about my world. One day, I will read this again.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey @gingerreadslainey. This is an ongoing event with weekly prompts to follow. For more information about the group and how to join, follow the Goodreads link HERE
3 thoughts on “T5W – November 23, 2016

    • 1984 is a great novel. I absolutely loved it. I had to read it back in high school a few years ago. There is this recurring question of what is 2+2, that just completely messed with by brain. It is a book that will make you think and open your mind. Still, I know a lot of people do not like this so don’t feel bad if it’s not your thing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

