Six of Crows

leigh-bardugo-cover-slider

By Leigh Bardugo

*****

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

 ~Kaz “Dirtyhands” Brekker, Six of Crows

This book is character development at ts finest. I went into this with a lot of doubt. I liked but did not love the Grisha trilogy, though I admit I really liked Ruin and Rising. I had no idea how this book was going to be. I went in hoping for good and expecting just ‘ok’. I walked away with my mind blown and my mouth wide open in surprise. Leigh Bardugo has outdone herself. This book is amazingly written with incredibly complex characters and a captivating plot. This book kept me glued to the page every step of the way.

This manages to do what few YA books do. It creates a complex and creative magical world and fills it with equally complex and driven charters. It accomplished much more than Shadow and Bone ever could, it went above and beyond anything that I had expected. It had the perfect balance of darkness and humor, of magic and action. On top of it all it had one of the most subtle, most complex, most amazing romances I have read in a long while in YA or anything for that matter.

My favorite part in this was not the immaculate world building. It was not the intriguing plot. It was the amazing characters. Each of them felt so real. They are developed so expertly and flawlessly that you don’t even realize when you fall for them, it is as if they had just always been there. None is pure, none is holy. They are thieves, traitors and killers yet they are so wonderfully human that you cannot help but want them to succeed. It seems that these dark characters are Leigh Bardugo’s specialty since my favorite of all her characters, before I had met Kaz, was the Darkling. Characters that are so far from redemption that you still wish to see redeemed. I fell in love with every single one of them. This was an amazing book. I have found a new favorite. I almost wish I could read it again for the first time

This review was originally posted  HERE by Angelica C.
2 thoughts on “Six of Crows

    1. Book two is amazing, although nothing will ever top Six of Crows for me. I have a review up on Goodreads if you want to see it. There is so much action in that book, and so much plotting! Leigh Bardugo has such a great talent for world building and character development, and especially for writing amazing plot lines. I hope you enjoy when you read it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

